Vinyasa Yoga Academy provides unique spiritual, religious, and mind-body experiences by applying their expertise in Vedanta philosophy and yoga retreats.

Yoga Retreats (10)

Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites

Instructors (7)

Yogi Vishnu Panigrahi

Swami Shivabrahmananda Saraswati

Dr. Rohit Chobe

Parveen Sharma

Yogi Navkant

Yogi Nicky

Akshay Vashisht

Reviews (28)

Hanna Lampen

from Finland, May 2019

"Very good teachers, accommodation could be better"

Teachers are all very good although different who is there in website at yinyoga teacher training course. Food is good and everytime on time. People are very kind! Prepare also that there is very hot and some of the rooms don't have airconditioning!

Sharon Jackson

from Australia, April 2019

"Really fabulous enriching experience."

The teachers were all great. Very professional,knowledgable, friendly approachable.The foods and kitchen staff were attentive and professional.

Dana Schiop

from United Arab Emirates, April 2019

"Dissapointed on the false advertise of 50-Hours Yin Training"

The school had a good location, the garden was very green with palm trees and many plants - looked very peaceful. The view was beautiful. The food was delicious to my surprise, this was my biggest worry, but they made sure to have fruits in the mornings and for lunch and dinner vegetables, the cooked food was mild spicy.

The staff and teachers were very nice.

Anonymous

from United States, February 2019

"Amazing experience!!"

Lifetime experience!!the teachers were amazing with so much knowledge!! The people working there are so nice, everybody really helpful and good!! The school is in a nice location, definitely worth it!!

Priya Bhasin

from Qatar, January 2019

"Holistic Yoga Therapy Course "

I really enjoyed our class schedule, close proximity to shopping/cafes, and the simplicity of the program and ashram. Each subject was interesting in their own way and with time you were able to see how holistic yoga truly is. I had a small group experience with 5 other students completing the 200 hour program and I really enjoyed getting to know these kindhearted, open minded, and curious individuals. The teachers and staff were very supportive, welcoming, and allowed you to learn so much from them. The philosophy, asana, and therapy classes were my favorite! The food was great and you were able to take as many blankets/towels as you wanted! I also loved the dancing and celebrations! I felt truly happy here 😍 I can’t wait to return to Rishikesh!

Anonymous

from Norway, November 2018

Very good staff. Always helpfull, especially when we got sick, they provided us with everything we needed and the kitchen mad us extra food. Thank you! I’ve had the best experience in my entire life, and the teachers have tought me so much! I leave Rishikesh as a new person with a lot of knowledge!

Julie Brunsgaard Andersen

from Denmark, January 2018

"Such an amazing experience."

Im so happy a chose this YTT! This school is amazing. If you are looking for a place with teachers truly teaching from their heart, amazing chefs and food, great accomodation, great administrative staff, that handles all requests you could have, well, then you have found the right place! I spend a month here during the 200 hour programme, and loved every second of it. Such a loving and welcomming atmosphere, and such great knowledge - all at one place! Couldn't be more grateful to have come here. Thank you!

Valérie Daigle

from Canada, December 2017

I really loved my experience! We were simply well taking care of and the teachings where absolutely great! Also the location of the school was very convenient

100 thanks

Monika Stimpfl

from Spain, December 2017

"amazing and unforgettable Yoga experience"

When I first looked up for schools on the website I immediately had a wonderful feeling with Vinyasa Yoga Accademy and immediately I got in touch with them. The answer I have got back was so amazing that I knew that this was my perfect choice. So within two days I booked the school and the flight and was so excited for my first trip to India!! The welcome at the airport, at the school I will never forget. Every single person has been like a family to me during the whole stay. I felt home. The place is quiet and close to the forest, but everything very close. The food has been prepared with so much love and dedication, incredible. Every day it was different during the whole stay. The centre provides filtered water which is excellent service. The excursions included where amazing! The hospitaity of all people has been very touching. All the people I met in the group have been the best I could ever expect. The teachers are amazing. Beeing so young but which such an excellent professionality, dedication, attention and positivity making all the classes so interesting I wished that the experience would never come to an end... I will always carry this experience in my heart as a treasure and really hope to meet all again on my spiritual path... yes now I know I have a spiritual family also in India. Thanks to all the people in the center and thanks to Rishikesh and their people, their culture, their love I always felt during this wonderful month. Very grateful forever. Namasté

Brian Cousineau

from Switzerland, November 2017

"Yoga in Rishikesh"

From the very first email inquiry, to the facilities, the staff, the seven different instructors, every step of the way thus school exceeded my expectations.

Louise Maughan

from Indonesia, September 2017

"The best Yoga Teacher Training experience "

The staff were always available. The head of the school (and another few schools in the area) was ALWAYS available for us and showed us such humble grace and hospitality! An incredible human being. The school was very clean and in a lovely location away from the hectic main streets but still only a short walk to the shops and cafes. The teaching was top quality. I learned to much about life and myself and feel confident to teach.

I advise that you must throw yourself fully into the experience! Embrace the culture and rituals and you won't be disappointed.

Marika Celant

from Italy, August 2017

"Everything absolutely perfect"

Teacher very prepared and professional

Anonymous

from Belgium, March 2019

"Excellente expérience "

L’ashram est très bien localisé, proche du centre. La nourriture est délicieuse. Les professeurs de qualités!

Anonymous

from Switzerland, September 2018

"Awesome experience !"

My 100hs yoga teacher training at Vinyasa Yoga Academy was a truly amazing experience. I am very grateful for the time I could spend there !

The teachers were very professional and have a wide knowledge they share during classes. The administrative staff was very kind and fulfilled special requests. The food was great, varied and when someone had a particular wish, the kitchen staff tried to include it in the menu.

Silvia Denhí Orozco Jiménez

from India, January 2018

"Nada es como lo anunciado"

Las clases de yoga eran completamente para principiantes por lo que estaban acordes a lo que yo esperaba: una introducción al yoga. El último día me permitieron quedarme 2 horas después del check out sin costó. El masaje gratis.

Anonymous

from Honduras, June 2017

"Good place to do your 200 hours Ytt"

-nice staff

-good food

-professional teachers

Dakotta

from United States,

I highly recommend taking your RYT200 at Vinyasa Yoga Academy. The school was well maintained and the teachers were EXCELLENT. They were highly supportive and available when you needed them.

Careen Barong

from Lebanon,

It was such a challenging journey of mine In India, but i am just thankful that I've chooses the Vinyasa Yoga Academy, the accommodations was great huge room and bathrooms friendly stuff that you can always count on and the incredible and smart professors and teacher that I've learnt a lot in just a month. To the founder Yogi Vishnu who was so inspirable for us by his words and actions, i am so blessed to meet him and thankful by baptizing me my spiritual name.. And I've got so much love by the yogis from all the different countries. A journey that i will forever treasured.. I am endorsing anyone to go and come this best Academy! Careen From Philippines but now Living in Lebanon! Namaste

Cate Overend

from India,

"Highly recommend."

had a wonderful experience at Vinyasa Yoga Retreat. There was bit of confusion in the beginning but everything was easily sorted. I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised and found I did not want to leave. I was fortunate to meet wonderful individuals who I will stay in touch with in the future. Highly recommend.

There were a few kinks (hence the 7) but they were worked out and the whole experience was wonderful

A traveler

Awful! Sewage leaking into our room. No windows, electricity, or heat. You could see your breath in the studio which was also under construction the whole time. We left after two days and got a partial refund. Huge scam, totally awful experience!

Vinyasa Yoga Academy's response:

Namaste from Vinyasa Yoga Academy,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us, as well as that you did not offer us the chance to solve the issues you encountered, since you left the second day.

The electricity issue happened due to the natural disaster and the power grid of the whole locality was blown off for one day. We had inverters in our building but they ran off during the night. It was for a single day only and all our students co-operated in that hard time and we are really grateful to each of them.

We would like your appreciation in this matter and kindly see the images of our rooms for yourself. We would also like to say that we have now changed our building to a newer one, and all our students are happy and content.

Warm regards,

Vinyasa Yoga Academy

Shanel

My stay at the Vinyasa Yoga Academy was terrible. I left after one week very dissappointed and upset.

Some of the issues were:

When I arrived at my room the toilet had pooh marks inside the toilet bowel as well as on the side wall. The shower towel was stained and damp with what looked like red lipstick marks. Bed linen was stained and looked dirty.

No hot water on some days and once no water. Electricity came on and off. Sometimes we had to have dinner by candlelight. WiFi also went on and off. They were building right next to the yoga studio so there was constant banging and lots of dust. The yoga studio was freezing. My bedroom was freezing. No rugs on floor. The curtains did not close properly. No heating. On the first day of classes two teachers didn't not pitch up and one was 30 minutes late. The Anatomy teacher does not know names of muscles or where they are on the skeleton and can not answer questions.

During yoga philosophy they tried to push their religion onto us as opposed to focusing on the curriculum. The steps up to the yoga studio were very unsafe, with no safety rail on steps outside. With the wind very strong in the morning one lady almost feel two stories down when the door blew open. 10 people started the training. On the second day, two people left and the rest of us complained. We then stuck it out for a week and then another four of us left (myself included).

When we spoke to management, and then Vishnu, they did not want to give us a refund but they finally refunded me 800 USD only. Even though I paid 1200 USD and only stayed a week. I then also had to pay a penalty cost to move my flights earlier. I am upset that they did not refunded me for the full three weeks. I feel like I have been totally ripped off.

The quality of the accommodation and classes is terrible. I will definitely never recommend them.

Vinyasa Yoga Academy's response:

Namaste from Vinyasa Yoga Academy,

We provide quality rooms to our students and we don't understand that if there would have been a problem, that particular student should have asked us to fix it. We didn't know about this horrific act of reviewing a particularly nice school with such bad allegations. We provide the best in class facilities to our beloved students who want to learn the ancient techniques of yoga at our school. We are disheartened to see that someone is trying to maul such bad accusations to our yoga family. Our rooms are bright, clean and spacious, and we only preach what we teach.

We care for each of our students as everyone needs a perfect room to live in. These are unjust allegations that we showed the different pictures to the students about accommodation. Also, we would like to clarify that although there was a construction site at one part of the school at that time, but it was not in use. The noise of construction going on came from a building next to ours. We tried talking to the owner about that, and that was the sole reason we lodged some of our students to a nearby hotel whose rooms were just next to that under-construction building. The hotel name is Grand Galaxy, Laxman Jhula and is one of the best standard hotel in the neighborhood. The hotel provides good quality rooms and you can check about that online.

About that electricity issue, it happened due to the natural disaster and the power grid of the whole locality was blown off for one day. We had inverters in our building but

they ran off during the night. It was for a single day only and all our students co-operated in that hard time and we are really grateful to everyone of them.

We would like your appreciation in this matter and kindly see the images of our rooms for yourself. We would also like to say that we have now changed our building to a newer one, and all our students are happy and content. We tried to make up with the previous students who were not happy but there were some who preferred luxuries over the service we provide. These were three students in total who left the course at that time. Our aim here is to teach and preach yoga and we are in service to the world by creating awareness among the people about yoga and its lifestyle.

Warm regards,

Vinyasa Yoga Academy.

Valérie Roy-Dionne

from Canada,

My experience at Vinyasa Yoga Academy was amazing! The teachers are incredibly nice and they have so much knowledge. The food was good and the view from the top yoga hall is great. The modest accomnodations are perfect to experience the yogic lifestyle and they are still good in general!

Karen

from United States,

I did attend, and as hard as it is to write this, it was a big disappointment. To begin with, the pictures of the school on the website were of the sister school World Peace Yoga. This location was down the street, and included a small café to relax between classes, a garden, a rooftop meditation area. Vinyasa Yoga Academy was still under construction the entire time of our course. Often until 11 p.m. there was ongoing sounds of digging, pounding, bouncing of cement blocks. Classes started at 6 a.m. or 6:30 a.m., and although there was a designated time for rest after breakfast and lunch, there was no way someone would be able to sleep through that! The teachers were very good. I would have liked more focus on alignment, anatomy, teaching techniques and actual teaching opportunities. I am glad I stuck it out, though at least one of the students dropped out because of these disappointments.It was also advertised as a course for all levels, which it clearly was not. I would not recommend this school, but the sister school, by contrast, would receive high marks if I could measure by the comments of the students there and what I saw of it. Unfortunately this only added to the disappointment, as it was the school I thought (for obvious reasons) that we would be attending. One more comment, a good percentage of us were not even placed at the school for lodging. We were farmed out to local "hotels" some of which were unspeakably below standard: mold, dirty sheets and towels upon arrival, no hot water. I was one of the lucky ones, as my room did have hot water for a 3-5 minute shower (actually that is plenty of time) and I was able to negotiate for clean linen. I did get my certificate, which was my goal, and as misrepresented and disappointed as this experience was, the teachers, as I said were great. It was the venue that didn't match what was advertised. I hope they finish building, and post the pictures of the real location so the next group of students don't get stuck half a world away.

Vinyasa Yoga Academy's response:

Namaste from Vinyasa Yoga Academy,

We provide quality rooms to our students and we don't understand that if there would have been a problem, that particular student should have asked us to fix it. We didn't know about this horrific act of reviewing a particularly nice school with such bad allegations. We provide the best in class facilities to our beloved students who want to learn the ancient techniques of yoga at our school. We are disheartened to see that someone is trying to maul such bad accusations to our yoga family. Our rooms are bright, clean and spacious, and we only preach what we teach.

We care for each of our students as everyone needs a perfect room to live in. These are unjust allegations that we showed the different pictures to the students about accommodation. Also, we would like to clarify that although there was a construction site at one part of the school at that time, but it was not in use. The noise of construction going on came from a building next to ours. We tried talking to the owner about that, and that was the sole reason we lodged some of our students to a nearby hotel whose rooms were just next to that under-construction building. The hotel name is Grand Galaxy, Laxman Jhula and is one of the best standard hotel in the neighborhood. The hotel provides good quality rooms and you can check about that online.

We would like your appreciation in this matter and kindly see the images of our rooms for yourself. We would also like to say that we have now changed our building to a newer one, and all our students are happy and content. We tried to make up with the previous students who were not happy but there were some who preferred luxuries over the service we provide. Our aim here is to teach and preach yoga and we are in service to the world by creating awareness among the people about yoga and its lifestyle.

Warm regards,

Vinyasa Yoga Academy.

Libia Thalia

La experiencia en Vinyasa Yoga Academy fue maravillosa, los profesores y clases excelentes, tienen un alto compromiso con los estudiantes. La atención fue excelente también, así como la comida. Es un equipo que trabaja desde el corazón y con mucho amor. Agradezco a cada uno de ellos que hicieron posible mi experiencia. Definitivamente volvería. Si estás pensando en ir no lo dudes más, solo prepárate por qué no querrás irte de la escuela.