Sorry, we have no availability on our site for this listing in the coming period.

You have successfully signed up for our newsletter!

Sign Up for Our Newsletter! Don't miss our special promotions, exclusive offers, new destinations and inspirational stories!

8 Days Meditation and Yoga Retreat in Nuweiba, Egypt

  • Coral Beach Camp, Nuweiba, Egypt

Meditation and Yoga Retreat in Egypt

In this retreat, we will focus more on the yoga and meditation in a place where there are little or no distractions from the outside world, giving you time and space to travel within and really take time out from your daily life. There will be two classes per day with one full day off during the week. Each class will include asanas, pranayama and meditation. There will also be an evening of meditation and chanting. Overall the retreat will give you an opportunity to learn more about yoga in depth and deepen your practice.

Highlights

  • Daily yoga classes
  • Asanas, pranayama and meditation sessions
  • Evening meditation and chanting workshop
  • Return transfers to and from the airport
  • Sunrise watching at Mount Sinai
  • 7 nights accommodation
  • 1 free day
  • 7 days with instruction
  • English
Hide all

Situated on a golden sandy beach that stretches forever, Coral Beach Camp is the ideal place for your study and training. There is a serenity and peacefulness in the Sinai Desert unequal to anywhere, enabling you to focus completely on your development. It has a beautiful golden sandy beach that goes on forever. It also has its own house reef, so you can snorkel and enjoy the beauty of the coral gardens on your doorstep.

The retreat is held in basic, clean and comfortable bamboo huts. There are several types of huts: the basic hut, which has mattresses on the floor, and the larger hut, which has proper beds. Meanwhile, the family hut has two rooms and sleeps four. Shower and toilet facilities are shared. It is a small camp with friendly staff to look after you.

Day 1: Arrival

  • 08.00 pm: arrival dinner

Day 2: Yoga class, free time

  • 08.00 am: yoga asanas, pranayama, meditation
  • 10.00 am: brunch
  • 11.00 am: introduction, sunbathe, swimming, snorkeling, diving, camel rides

Day 3: Yoga class, free time

  • 08.00 am: yoga asanas, pranayama, meditation
  • 10.00 am: brunch
  • 11.00 am: sunbathe, swimming, snorkeling, diving, camel rides

Day 4: Yoga classes, free time, excursion

  • 08.00 am: yoga asanas, pranayama, meditation
  • 10.00 am: brunch
  • 11.00 am: optional excursion to Colored Canyon
  • 05.00 pm: yoga asanas, pranayama
  • 07.00 pm: dinner
  • 11.00 pm: climb Mount Sinai for sunrise, then visit St. Katherines Monastery at the base

Day 5: Free time

  • 02.00 pm: return to the camp and free time

Day 6: Yoga classes, free time

  • 08.00 am: yoga asanas, pranayama, meditation
  • 10.00 am: brunch
  • 11.00 am: lunch and then evening yoga at Castle Zaman
  • 07.00 pm: dinner

Day 7: Yoga classes, free time

  • 08.00 am: yoga asanas, pranayama, meditation
  • 10.00 am: brunch
  • 05.00 pm: yoga asanas, pranayama, then desert dinner meditation

Day 8: Yoga class, departure

  • 08.00 am: yoga asanas, pranayama, meditation
  • 10.00 am: brunch, check out

Nuweiba is on the eastern coast of Egypt's Sinai Peninsula, 70 km south of Taba and 180 km north of Sharm el Sheikh, and only 120 km from St. Catherine. Nuweiba means, bubbling springs in Arabic. The 7-km long stretched settlement developed from a barren isolated place with no infrastructure into a promising and attractive tourist destination.

Nuweiba was recently discovered by tourist investors establishing hotels along the coastline connecting it with Taba in the north and Dahab in the south. The city is divided into three parts. From southward you'll find the port, the city, and Tarabin, the Beduin camp and beach strip where most backpackers stay. Nuweiba city lacks a center, but has a small strip of cheap restaurants, an internet cafe, and some souvenir shops. Along the beach in the city some resorts and more upscale camps are located.

Where possible, organic vegetables are used from a nearby farm.

You can snorkel, scuba dive, ride camels, go trekking or windsurfing, as well as the optional safaris mentioned in the schedule above.

Full body massage and Reiki will be available throughout.

  • 1 evening meditation and chanting workshop
  • 7 nights accommodation with half board at Utopia Beach in a bamboo hut
  • 11 yoga classes with one day off
  • Daily yoga classes consisting of asanas, pranayama and meditation sessions
  • Transport to and from Taba or Sharm el Sheikh airports
  • Trip to Mount Sinai for sunrise and visit to St Katherine's Monastery
  • Flights and holiday insurance

Arrival by airplane

You will need to fly into Taba or Sharm el Sheikh International Airport. Please inform Sunra Yoga of your arrival time to arrange for transfer.

Verified BookYogaRetreats.com reviews

  • L
    Review by Lieve De Moulin from Belgium

    Organizer response: Thankyou Lieve for your positive review, so pleased you enjoyed your time in Gozo. I hope you get to see Abhimanyu or Guruji. Please let me know if you do. Keep up the practice! .

    2017-Jul-03 05:56:47

  • Review by Tessa

    "I've had a lovely yoga week in Gozo. It turned out it was only a max of 4 students sharing a house and taking the classes twice a day. The house in Sannat was lovely, roof terrace overlooking the hills and the host of the house, Karen, also cooking us diner every night, was the most lovely lady you can imagine. The other 3 girls and I had the most amazing time together. Jon, our yoga teacher, was most willing to live up to our yoga wishes so there was a lot of individual attention.Communication wise, Sunra was not as professional as they present themselves online. It turned out this was the first time they had the yoga week on that location in Sannat and it came with a lot of unclarities. There was not enough space on the rooftop terrace to fit 4 yoga mats, the described optional trip to Comino wasn't mentioned during the week, the sunset mediation we had to ask for and arrange ourselves, half of the pictures showed online were from a different location, there were no cushions and props provided, and so on. It was in the little things, but added up. It was pretty disappointing that Barbara, the owner, started in defense when answering my email about these things that they've presented to me online differently. Although the yoga itself and the location was great, the communication from Sunra wasn't and that's something to mention."

    ""

    "Response from Sunra Yoga:"

    "Dear Tessa,"

    "I am very sorry for your disappointment with some aspects of the holiday but very pleased nonetheless that you did enjoy yourself and that you were very happy with the yoga, location and food. It was our third holiday, not the first at this venue, but it is our first summer working in Gozo so we have experienced some teething problems. In addition I have had a number of health issues and have been unable to be as hands on as I normally would. We are currently addressing all of your issues, the yoga roof space has been improved to accommodate 5 people and we have updated the itinerary to make it clear regarding the Camino trip on the day off is optional and not arranged by ourselves. Jon had been instructed to do a sunset meditation but didn’t realise it was supposed to be at the beach and instead did it on the roof, which is my mistake. After you wrote to me regarding it not being at the beach I rectified this immediately by arranging for the yoga and sunset meditation to take place the next day at the Azure Window which as I understand you all thoroughly enjoyed. Given this is my first summer working in Gozo I should’ve taken the 5pm beach yoga off the site during the summer as it is really too hot. Regarding the different pics online, it was stated that the holidays were taking place at two different locations in Gozo and pics of both were on the websites. Throughout August all were in the venue in Sannat, which was the info all guests were given upon first enquiry. Regarding props and cushions I explained that in the Sivananda system we do not use props ie blocks, straps or ropes & as far as I was concerned I felt the cushions available in the house were adequate, having used some of them myself when teaching there. Since your feedback we will be considering props for future guests unfamiliar with the Sivananda system. I’m really sorry if I came across as defensive in response to your email, but it was in no way my intention. I appreciate your honest feedback, am addressing all the issues & hope you continue with your practice."

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Maria
    10 out of 10

    "Just came home after such an amazing week in Gozo. It was fantastic. No words. It was my first experience, but I can say with 100% confidence it was unforgettable. People I met on this retreat became my souls and teachers. Beautiful place, very special atmosphere, lots of sun, lots of emotions. The best for me and reason why I chose specifically this retreat, was small groups to stay and practice yoga with. We always had attention of our lovely teacher, John and enjoyed time spent together. Anyway, I will definitely repeat it! Thank you."

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Catherine from Austria
    8 out of 10

    "The Bedouine Moon Hotel is a really nice hotel with very beautiful rooms and a great pool area. The staff is very friendly and they read your wishes from your lips so that you already feel familiar after a few days of vacation. I also really enjoyed the morning yoga classes with our great teacher Natalie. The divesites (blue whole, murray gardens and the canyon) were fascinating and I felt really safe due to our professional diving instructor Camal from Reef2000. Although because of the political situation there a very few tourists that visit Dahab, which is very sad and brings negative business for the local people."

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

Testimonials

  • Review by Larry
    10 out of 10

    "A massive thank you to Barbara & the whole Sunra Team for making my stay so enjoyable…and healthy, Philen has prepared so many great dishes."

    Sunra Yoga, edited

  • Review by Lou
    10 out of 10

    "Dear Barbara, words cannot express how much I have appreciated my time with you in this amazing place."

    Sunra Yoga, edited

  • Review by Lieve
    10 out of 10

    "Dear Barbara, Jane, Phile, Thank you very much for this great experience. I’ve enjoyed the “lengthening, softening and stretching” as well as the great food."

    Sunra Yoga, edited

  • Review by Arantxa
    10 out of 10

    "Thanks for your yoga classes to both of you. They were gentle, yet strong and I will always remember the importance of breathing and will try to slow down. Thanks to Philen for his kindness and great food."

    Sunra Yoga, edited

  • Review by Jane and Lou
    10 out of 10

    "Many thanks for a great week. We arrived weary travelers and left as friends after a memorable week. Barbara, you are a remarkable woman and your yoga is beautiful. Adel is a great chef and a very special woman. "

    Sunra Yoga, edited

  • Review by Ann
    10 out of 10

    "Had an amazing experience. Barbara has gone out of her way to accommodate me with a variety of classes, breathing methods, and meditation."

    Sunra Yoga, edited

  • Review by Sylviane,Mariane, & Caroline
    10 out of 10

    "Thanks Barbara for the professional yoga teaching and the beautiful participants. We had such a great time!"

    Sunra Yoga, edited

  • Review by Miryam
    10 out of 10

    "I had a lovely, relaxing week of good yoga, great teachers, good food, nice walks with lots to see with nice weather. Thank you for the excellent organization and good location."

    Sunra Yoga, edited

  • Review by Ford from United States
    10 out of 10

    "Barbara Gordon is a personable host. She's loved in the community, which she knows deeply and enjoys sharing. In yoga class, she shows precise attention to details, using adjustments to allow for the optimal alignment. Nataly Dubok taught evening classes with incredible efficiency and intelligence. Once I articulated my aims, she knew how to lead me on a fun, unique, and rewarding journey, using a vast repertoire of poses. In my ten years of practice, she's the most unpretentious yet knowledgeable yoga teacher I've met, capable of inspiring laughter, trust, coordination, and progress.I highly recommend Sunra Yoga. These ladies are talented, compassionate, and original. They genuinely want you to have a fun and worthwhile holiday."

    January 15, edited

  • Review by Annie Minns from United Kingdom
    9 out of 10

    "What an unexpected loving week, magical week. I realize how I can focus better now."

    July 2012, edited

  • Review by Sandra Jetten from United States
    10 out of 10

    "Thank you for a wonderful week full of unexpected experiences. Words can't really do it justice."

    June 2012, edited

  • Review by Kara from United Kingdom
    10 out of 10

    "Babs, Monica and everyone else, what a fabulous holiday! Thanks for my first proper yoga! Really enjoyed it and have been inspired. Magic!"

    June 2012, edited

  • Review by Simon
    10 out of 10

    "It's been a special week in so many ways Barbara and Monica have ensured that each day was in its own way something that I will carry with me."

    2012 Sunra Yoga website, edited

  • Review by Claire
    10 out of 10

    "What a week! We so enjoyed it, each and every individual experience! Barbara, you are truly a beautiful person who taught me much this week, on yoga & myself I feel the yoga more when I breathe and let my body relax into it. Now I understand and will be teaching your ways within the year!"

    2012 Sunra Yoga website, edited

  • Review by Dee
    10 out of 10

    "It's been a fantasy week, much relaxation and taking on new life experiences which for me is something of great value. Barbara, thanks for my gentle introduction to the art of yoga I can say it's been some time since I've felt so good within myself."

    2012 Sunra Yoga website, edited

  • Review by Jeremy
    10 out of 10

    "My Sinai experience has been magical and only enhanced by losing my yoga & meditation virginity to you both. Ohm Shanti Barbara and Monica, looking forward to lots more breathing."

    2012 Sunra Yoga website, edited

  • Review by Nicky
    10 out of 10

    "Thank you Barbara and Monica...for your kind eyes, generous minds & healing souls. You have taught me SO much and inspired confidence in me to live a gentler path, more self reverence, more compassion...I will remember this place of stillness and great elemental beauty...etched on my heart. For the first time in 10 years of severe ME Syndrome I feel energy!"

    2012 Sunra Yoga website, edited

  • Review by Veronica
    10 out of 10

    "Thank you! Everything has been just so so fun, so chilled, so special. And I'm leaving that bit different to when I arrived (so stressed!)"

    2012 Sunra Yoga website, edited

  • Review by Clare and Raja
    10 out of 10

    "We've had a wonderful and inspiring time here. Thank you so much for an experience we'll never forget hope we can repeat it sometime."

    2012 Sunra Yoga website, edited