8 Days Wellness Yoga Retreat in Bali

  • Shanti Toya Ashram, Tebe Kurung, Br. Umah Anyar, Penarungan, Mengwi, Kabupaten Badung, Bali, Indonesia

Meditation and Yoga Retreat Bali

Find the balance in your body and mind amidst the serene setting at Shanti Toya Ashram. You will have daily yoga practices, relaxing afternoons to enjoy the ashram, and free time to explore the community or venture to other areas on the Island of the Gods, Bali. The ashram is located only half an hour from the beach, giving you the chance to also rejuvenate in the beautiful beaches of Bali.

Highlights

  • Daily yoga classes
  • Sunset rice field excursion
  • 1 Balinese massage treatment
  • Daily vegetarian and organic meals
  • 7 nights accommodation
  • Unlimited herbal water
  • 7 days with instruction
  • English
Hide all

During this retreat, you will be staying at one of Shanti Toya Ashram's villas and suites. Shanti Toya offers an authentic taste of Bali, nestled in the quiet hillside of a lush jungle ravine and surrounded by the rice paddy farmlands of Penarungan village. It is located approximately 15 minutes southwest of Ubud, a city-center highly regarded and sought after by yogis worldwide as the modern hub of the yoga community.

The property itself is the home of a peaceful gurgling river and an abundant holy spring water source. In addition to the four new villas (each with guest rooms and bathrooms) and two private villas, there is also a beautiful second story thatch-roof bamboo yoga shala, communal open-air dining and lecture hall, reception, store, spring water-fed swimming pool, bale, and an organic vegetable garden.

There are plenty of nature walking opportunities just outside the ashram, through the quaint village and beautiful rice paddies. Shanti Toya Ashram is set in an intimate setting, perfect for smaller retreats of up to 22 guests, which allows a richer experience, more personalized attention, and authentic friendships to form between retreat-goers.

Day 1 - Sunday

  • 13:00 Arrival and settle in

Day 2 - Monday

  • 07:00 Yin yoga
  • 09:00 Hindu offering
  • 15:00 Canang making
  • 17:00 Vinyasa flow

Day 3 - Tuesday

  • 07:00 Meditation
  • 07:30 Morning Flow
  • 09:00 Balinese Experience (tour of traditional Balinese elementary school, barong dance, visit Balinese temple and receive holy bracelet, rice field tour, Balinese activities such as making satay, Balinese desert, canang sari, making natural coconut oil and Balinese coffee, learn how to plant rice paddies, observe local Balinese artists painting with natural colors)
  • 17:00 Hatha
  • 19:00 Mantra Chant

Day 4 - Wednesday

  • 07:00 Morning Flow
  • 08:30 Pose Exploration
  • 15:00 Balinese dancing class
  • 17:00 Hatha
  • 19:00 Massage intro

Day 5 - Thursday

  • 07:00 Partner Yoga
  • 15:00 Cooking Class
  • 17:00 Hatha
  • 18:00 Pranayama
  • 19:30 Chakra Dance

Day 6 - Friday

  • 07:00 Morning Flow
  • 08:00 Pose Exploration
  • 15:00 Jamu Making(herbal juice from bali)
  • 17:00 Yin Yoga
  • 18:00 Meditation

Day 7 - Saturday

  • 07:00 Morning Flow
  • 08:00 Pranayama
  • 14:00 Satya
  • 17:00 Hatha
  • 18:00 Chakra Dance

Day 8 - Sunday

  • 12:00 Departure
  • Jani Jaatinen

    Jani started his yoga journey in the year 2000 with Janne Kontala, a legendary teacher and Jani’s good friend. Since then, he has been practicing Hatha and Ashtanga, and integrating yogic spiritual practices. Mahayogi lives in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia with his wife Jaci, running their own yoga shala. He also teaches internationally, regularly visiting Gokul Yoga Bali for retreats and teacher training workshops. Mahayogi’s dedication and devotion to yoga is an inspiration for everyone who has had the chance to study yoga with him.

This retreat will take place in Bali, Indonesia.

Nearby places

  • Beach - 30 minutes
  • Ngurah Rai International Airport (DPS) - 30 minutes
  • Ubud - 20 minutes

During the retreat, you will be served daily organic and vegetarian breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as unlimited herbal tea and one coconut. All meals are made specially from Shanti Toya's organic garden's produce.

We offer Indonesian lunch and international dinner. We are here to exchange cultures and food is one of important elements in any cultures . that’s why we offer dinners from 7 different cultures.

Additional retreat activities

You can enrich your retreat experience with several add-ons, which are available upon request at additional costs, such as:

  • Cooking class
  • Kirtan or traditional fire ceremony
  • Juicing detox program
  • Massage
  • Mystic motion class (meditative motion or dance)
  • Taxi service and private drivers
  • Watsu session (aquatic body work)

Tours and other activities

  • Go for the sacred site and temple tour
  • Take permaculture farm tour
  • Take rice paddy tour
  • Take surf lessons or trips
  • Take the organic coffee plantation tour
  • Try Mount Batur volcano hikes
  • Try white water rafting
  • Visit monkey forest and Ubud market
  • Watch and learn the traditional Balinese dance

Included in the total cost of this retreat is one Balinese massage. You can also book for other treatments for an additional cost.

Balinese massage

Pamper yourself with a classical full body massage on a comfortable massage table, delivered in a tropical poolside garden. At Shanti Toya, Balinese massage is delivered by a Balinese massage therapist who is experienced in both relaxation and therapeutic massage. Other Ayurvedic treatments and acupuncture are available upon request.

Watsu

Also known as water Shiatsu, Watsu is a form of aquatic therapy, delivered partially on land (bale pool) and partially in the water. Through head and neck massage and floating movements in the water, receivers of Watsu arrive at a state of deep relaxation and trust.

  • 1 Balinese massage treatment
  • 7 nights accommodation
  • Daily coconut
  • Daily vegetarian breakfast, lunch, dinner, and herbal teas
  • Daily yoga classes
  • Meditation Classes
  • Sunset rice field excursion
  • Use of yoga mat
  • Airfare
  • Airport transfers

Arrival by airplane

Please book your flight to arrive at Ngurah Rai International Airport (DPS).

  • A reservation requires a deposit of 25% of the total price.
  • The deposit is fully refundable if the booking is cancelled up to 10 days before the arrival date.
  • The rest of the payment should be paid on arrival.

Verified BookYogaRetreats.com reviews

  • M
    Review by Malin Österman from Indonesia

    2017-Jul-31 08:45:14

  • J
    Review by Jose Luis Lastra from Indonesia

    2017-Jul-25 11:31:45

  • C
    Review by Cristina Zarauz from Indonesia

    PROS Pros: Location and people, magical

    2017-Jul-25 08:21:13

  • C
    Review by Chelsey Bennett from Australia

    BEST RETREAT!

    PROS Pros: This retreat was literally everything I had hoped for and more! Not only was the yoga and meditation perfect the other activities and experiences were amazing. The two teachers were so welcoming and kind that it bettered your activities even more. The food was so yummy and everyone who worked at Shanti Toya is so helpful and welcoming. Sarah who runs the retreat is so helpful and it was so lovely that the people who worked there got to enjoy time and were interested in getting to know you. I would recommend this to EVERYONE!!

    2017-Jul-13 03:24:52

  • K
    Review by Kasey Brown from Australia

    Amazing experience!!

    PROS Pros: The food, staff and location was incredible. Such a magical week and incredible experience.

    2017-Jul-11 01:08:36

  • J
    Review by Jack Helme from Cambodia

    Incredible...

    CONS Cons: It was an extremely difficult place to leave! The staff are too hard to say goodbye to, and don't even mention the little dogs...

    PROS Pros: Shanti Toya, first of all, will forever be a place that brings happiness and peace to me every time I think of it's name. From the varied and traditional food, to the incredibly friendly and welcome staff - everything at the retreat ensures you'll be able to find the right mindset to both ground yourself internally and appreciate those around you whilst amongst the natural jungle that surrounds this Eden. It's impossible not to mention the unbelievably good value for money, alongside the yoga and meditation, there is the opportunity to experience Balinese culture through many different enriching activities from a cooking class to dance performances and lessons. These locally led activities go hand in hand with the yogic practice - delivered by amazingly friendly and thoughtful instructors - to form a powerful, spiritually nourishing experience that will give you the best platform to fulfill any intentions and goals whilst bringing you the joy of realising and achieving so much more.

    2017-Jul-10 04:23:30

  • A
    Review by Abigail Serafin from United States

    Shanti Toya, forever in my heart!

    CONS Cons: The only thing I didn't like was having to say good-bye.

    PROS Pros: This little ashram is everything I hoped for and more. Driving through rice fields that lead to this hidden gem in the jungle was an experience in itself. The guided yoga practice and meditation were lead by wonderful instructors and the whole staff was incredibly friendly and warm! I cannot think of a more wonderful place to be.

    2017-Jul-06 21:12:53

  • T
    Review by Tony Richards from Australia

    A rrrrrrA real surprise

    CONS Cons: Of course do not expect 5 star at the ashram . Considering the cost of the retreat and deep value given nothing much to report

    PROS Pros: This retreat is exceptional value ! ...So much so that i decided to stay another 7 days added on to my original 7 day booking. Mitt and Sarah and the local staff are very welcoming and friendly. The morning and evening yoga were most enjoyable and of a high standard where all participant skill levels were catered for. With people coming from all over the world the vibe is fun and very interesting..... Beautiful lush surrounding jungle........ Go ahead and book this one !.

    2017-Jul-06 07:38:18

  • K
    Review by Katrine Sonnenschein from Australia

    PROS Pros: The quiet environment. The nature. The good and healthy food. Yoga was great.

    2017-Jun-26 10:16:12

  • J
    Review by Julieta Fioriti from Malaysia

    Just perfect!

    PROS Pros: I wouldn't have enough words to describe my week at Shanti Toya. Everything was better than imagined. The yoga classes, the pool, the food, the staff, the teachers, absolutely everyone made our stay just perfect. Each one works with so much love for what they do that you can feel it. They even threw me a birthday party that i will always remember. Be sure you don't miss the balinese experience which is wonderful and if you are reading this and you are doubting about booking or not (which i was), just go for it!

    2017-Jun-26 10:01:21

  • S
    Review by Simon Jones from Australia

    We live shanti toya

    PROS Pros: Was our first retreat , so no expectations. From the moment we walked through their door to the moment we left. The staff made a very special effort towards us. Both teachers gave us a very special yoga experience and our group of fellow yogis were very special too. I can find no fault with this retreat except that we ate too much:)). Because the food was so nice. Thankyou very much

    2017-Jun-26 00:48:19

  • L
    Review by Leiriza Limpin from Philippines

    2017-Jun-26 00:10:39

  • D
    Review by Dominica Brown from Thailand

    Great experience!

    PROS Pros: Amazing staff! So friendly and helpful they made my stay the wonderful experience that it was.

    2017-Jun-22 01:03:52

  • N
    Review by Noemie Ducuing from New Caledonia

    2017-Jun-13 11:46:05

  • B
    Review by Beatrice Metzler from United Kingdom

    2017-Jun-13 08:27:29

  • E
    Review by Ellis Van Oosterzee from Netherlands

    CONS Cons: I felt very uncomfortable in my single room: quality of the bed was really poor, the shower wasn't clean and was clogged so using the toilet was with my feet in water. I arrived late at night after a long travel, so was too tired too complain about the stains in my bed. I was offered another room, and although the bed was new, the room was as uncomfy as the one I had. On the other side of the ashrams were rooms with complete different atmosphere, nice and cosy. If I was offered such a room, I wouldn't have left after 3 nights.. A bit dissapointing there was no initiative for some refund.

    PROS Pros: Very sweet staff, great food, beautiful location

    2017-Jun-12 21:35:42

  • H
    Review by Anonymous

    Organizer response: Thanks for the review

    2017-Jun-06 09:52:20

  • C
    Review by Clara Villeneuve from Vietnam

    Organizer response: thanks for your review

    2017-May-30 00:23:42

  • R
    Review by Ronnie Gillissen from Australia

    Awesome 8 day stay in paradise

    CONS Cons: The mattress

    PROS Pros: Yoga, food, activities, guests, staff, location and the fresh water pool!

    2017-May-22 00:06:19

  • M
    Review by Megan Malloy from Vietnam

    Absolutely amazing experience!

    CONS Cons: I have nothing negative to say about Shanti Toya !

    PROS Pros: The accommodation was clean & airconditioned. Ariel, Sara , other Sara & staff really make shanti toya an incredible experience. The grounds are kept up very well and are always cleaned. Three incredible puppies for when you need some extra love. This place felt like home after a week which made if very difficult to leave. I can't recommend Shanti Toya enough !

    2017-May-15 00:41:47

  • Z
    Review by Zoe Peters from Thailand

    Amazing!

    PROS Pros: I had the best time, would recommend to everyone. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Really didn't want to leave at the end of my week. As someone who has never done yoga before, I not only felt more confident by the end of the week but had so much fun doing it! Thank you Shanti Toya, I'll be back soon!

    2017-May-08 02:21:08

  • S
    Review by Slawa Walczak from United Kingdom

    Amazing budget yoga retreat

    CONS Cons: I was missing some raw food. More salads and fresh veggies rather than fried options. And as I shared my room with someone I didn't know the fact that there was no door to the bathroom in my room - made me super uncomfortable. But the room itself was ok

    PROS Pros: The place was amazing. All the staff super friendly. Yoga classes and yoga related classes were run so nicely. I had a blast there. Also via the group of yogis was such a lovely bunch too :) oh and a spring water pool was amazing .

    2017-May-08 01:12:18

  • M
    Review by Michaela Paskaleva from Ireland

    2017-May-02 19:58:01

  • G
    Review by Gemma Edwards from Myanmar [Burma]

    2017-May-01 08:40:47

  • M
    Review by Michele Baker from Belgium

    We had an amazing time at Shanti Toya. The location was great, the yoga fantastic and the food delicious. We met such wonderful people during our stay in this special place. We would definitely return in the future.

    CONS Cons: There was nothing I did not like.

    PROS Pros: The programme was great. Yoga twice a day, meditation and cultural trips. It was very nice to have three meals included. The owners were very helpful and friendly chatting to us during dinner each night. The yoga instructor was amazing- very knowledgeable, supportive, well versed in many types of yoga as well as chanting and meditation. We not only had a great week of Yoga but we also made friends with some amazing people.

    2017-Apr-23 20:21:25

  • S
    Review by Simone Gartenmann from Switzerland

    Heaven on earth

    PROS Pros: Yoga and méditation with Jenny, la piscine, l'ambiance générale et la simplicité, tranquillité du lieu, l'accueil des propriétaires, la gentillesse du staff....tout!

    2017-Apr-18 07:22:03

  • G
    Review by Greta Gotlieb from New Zealand

    2017-Apr-17 06:24:22

  • V
    Review by Victoria Whittaker from Indonesia

    Incredible yoga paradise!

    CONS Cons: I literally can't recall any negatives...!

    PROS Pros: Our stay at Shanti Toya was excellent. It was the cheapest retreat we could find in Bali so we went with relatively basic expectations and were pleasantly surprised. The class sizes allowed for a really personal experience, the retreat grounds and surrounding are so so beautiful, the food was varied and tasty, and the cultural activities (canang making, Bali experience etc.) made the whole package even better value for money. The safe, friendly atmosphere really allowed for us to be open to the new experience and over the week we forged wonderful friendships with the teachers and fellow guests. Don't waste time considering other, more expensive retreats; Shanti Toya is the best around! Thank you for stay.

    2017-Apr-14 14:01:12

  • Review by Claire Finka from United Kingdom
    9 out of 10

    " Shanti Toya provides a great soft yoga retreat. We had an excellent and very varied programme of yoga and yoga related activities but the regime was not too strict and allowed for trips out as desired. My room was delightful, although I did see one that was not as good so it is worth checking this out. loved the setting in gardens next to rice fields, and the pool is excellent. The staff were always most helpful.My one criticism would be the food, breakfast was good but the attempt to provide “international” cuisine in the evening verged on disasterous. However I could not fault the value for money."

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Lisa Hyder from United States

    "I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, the beautiful yoga shala, and the spring water pool. The staff are very kind and helpful. The food was fairly good. My room was very clean. Most of all I enjoyed the company of like minded people and had the opportunity for much healing through the many activities offered. "

    BookYogaRetreats.com website, edited

  • Review by Diana Zavzeatii from UAE
    9 out of 10

    " I had an amazing time at Shanti Toya."

    "The location is just great. The place is built well. The pool is really nice. The room I was in was spacious with AC. The bathroom was semi-open and even though that is not my ideal type of bathroom because many bugs were coming in, i was still ok with it. It was a learning process for me to embrace the nature. The yoga shala is great, especially during the morning yoga, the sun was really nice from there. Yoga classes were super. Jenny, the yoga instructor is amazing, with wonderful people's skills! She made the stay so meaningful. She concentrated on many aspects of yoga, not just the physical one and I learned so much during my retreat from her. The host and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The program is flexible so any time I could chose to skip an activity. Food was good, but I would add more options. Daily coconut is such a great thing! The welcome massage is done by a very good masseuse. I even got a second massage on my last day for a reasonable price. The treatment area is surrounded by nature and adds to the experience. Ubud is just 20-25 min drive and a local driver (Raka +62 819 9913 5033) - he is the best) can take you anywhere you want around Bali for a great price. The best thing About Shanti Toya is that you meet so many amazing people who you bond with and feel that you know each other for a lifetime. "

    ""

    "I saw people coming back to Shanti Toya because they loved it so much. I would also like to come back one day!"

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Andrew Strang from London
    9 out of 10

    "I really enjoyed the retreat. Ariel and his team do a great job and Jenny, the yoga teacher who ran most of the activities, was awesome. Always positive, knowledgeable and inclusive. Bearing in mind how economical this package is compared to most Ubud-area retreats, the accommodation, food and service were excellent. They include and care for the local community which was heartening to see. 9 out of 10. Many Thanks to all at Shanti Toya"

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Donald Cooper from Vietnam
    10 out of 10

    "My retreat at Shanti Toya was amazingly great! After travelling in Vietnam for 2 months, I needed peace and quiet and a lot of stretches. Shanti Toya was perfect! Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by Ariel who invited me to have some lunch from the buffet while he explained the weeks' program. I was then given an upgraded beautiful large room with en-suite bathroom and a bliss-inducing view into the tree tops and beyond. Monday morning Jenny led myself and the only other participant (there had been major cancellations because of flooding in Bali the previous week) through some amazing restorative poses. Jenny proceeded to be fantastic throughout the week and adjusted flawlessly to others joining mid week, and to the varying evening classes where people from the community joined in. Jenny is very competent and was very generous with her hands on adjustments, generous feedback, and sweet small massages in the resting asanas. She introduced a number of different types of yoga and breathing practices, as well as fun and interesting retreat options including chanting, truth circles, and an a introduction to massage, each of which provided interesting challenges and personal rewards.The staff are all wonderfully friendly, helpful, and genuine and the food was great...especially the vegetarian versions of national dishes of some European countries..this from an omnivore who seldom doesn't have meat in his diet at least every other day.Thank you for a great week to everyone at Shanti Toya. I'm extending my Bali holiday, so I may be back for deeper stretches. Oh, and I loved the pool! ... especially lying on my back star gazing at Orion, my favorite constellation. "

    "I give it a 10/10I'm in Sanur, Bali at the moment. "

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Evelyn Bushari
    10 out of 10

    "It was my first time to Bali and I did not know what to expect. "

    "I was positively surprised and will remember Shanti Toya as a completely enchanting, magnificent ashram. It is a blissful place with small, intimate classes and passionate, committed staff. It was wonderful to experience yoga as the powerful transformative force it is there. Truly magnificent ! And thanks to everybody at Shanti Toya! "

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Sarah Schwarzenbach

    "Most friendly and helpful Staff, my time here was so peaceful. I liked the activities here very much specially Yoga. My room was clean and cosy with fan. The pool are amazing, Shanti Toya is a little paradise in jungle. The whole area is surrounded by Nature. Really a place to relax and rest. Good food, good people and good price. Thank you Shanti Toya for this amazing experience."

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Claire Morgan
    6 out of 10

    "I came to this yoga retreat with high expectations after receiving an email saying there wasn't many spaces left (which wasn't correct, the retreat wasn't fully booked). Maybe my expectations were a little too high for the price range. The yoga was fantastic and I can't fault the teachers. They really made my experience, as well as the people on the retreat itself. I shared some fantastic moments due to the people, but I can't say due to Shanti Toya itself. The staff were fantastic and always there to help with a friendly smile, but the place lacked a certain atmosphere you would think to find at a yoga retreat. We didn't get all that was stated on the retreat package, missing the water and fire ceremony. The food was enjoyable but didn't vary too much throughout the week. I can't fault my experience and would like to thank the staff and yoga teachers but unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend as the retreat programme seemed inconsistent and workshops seemed thrown together."

    ""

    "Response from the management of Shanti Toya"

    "Based on our listing page at BookYogaRetreats, water cleansing and fire ceremony are NOT included. We never said we are fully booked and we had about 11 guests at this time. All rooms have curtains and we don't have any rooms without one. We are not a 5 star hotel, where you pay 150 usd per night. We charge 200 USD for a week which includes food,yoga classes, activities and massage. As such it seems your expectations are quite high for our standard. We are open to complaints but we hope you can also understand we can only provide as much as the most we can offer considering our simple facilities and humble services."

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Avital from United Kingdom
    9 out of 10

    "I had an amazing time at Shanti Toya and highly recommend the yoga retreat!"

    "The yoga was brilliant (thanks Evie!) and I met so many lovely people, including both the other guests but also the wonderful staff (special thanks to Mitt and Raldo!)"

    "Highly recommended for anyone who wants to truly relax and reflect in an authentic "jungle" setting. The rooms afford privacy to whoever wants to "retreat", and the dining room was a great hang out area to socialise and laugh with new friends."

    "Highlights were cooking and sharing home cuisine with everyone (thanks Shanti Toya for buying all the groceries!) and turning the yoga room into a dance floor for our last night :)"

    "I wasn't expecting to have such a great time - it was definitely an emotional goodbye! Hopefully I'll be back again soon."

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by Julie from Poole England
    8 out of 10

    "We had a great time and Azuka the main yoga instructor was amazing. Our room was, apparently, the best room and it was huge with a great view of the jungle. The bathroom was very tatty and the towels were really old. The food was sometimes pretty good and other times very basic but overall I enjoyed the food. The swimming pool was spring fed which was lovely. The yoga instructor did not turn up for one of the evening classes. The location is amazing but a little bit of love and maintenance would make such a difference. Also, some new crockery and towels would be good."

    "We were asked once if we wanted our room cleaned during the 7 days."

    "Overall we really enjoyed our stay and it was great value."

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

  • Review by William from France
    10 out of 10

    "Tout s'est très bien passé, le personnel est tellement gentil et ce fut une expérience spirituelle hors du commun pour moi, je me suis senti comme chez moi, c'est très important pour moi qui suis souvent sur la route. Un grand merci à shanti toya, pradnya et tout le monde :-)"

    BookYogaRetreats.com, edited

Testimonials

  • Review by a traveler from South Korea

    "Good place for retreat. friendly staff, beautiful swimming pool, perfect yoga session."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Greta Pasztor
    9 out of 10

    "A great place for relaxing, making new friendships and connecting with nature. All of this through yoga, meditation, massage, pleasant social activities, ect. Whether alone or as a couple or a smaller group, you will enjoy this place, that is guaranteed. I highly recommend it, I have had one whole week of the above lately and it was a great, refreshing experience I will always have as a sweet memory."

    Shanti Toya's Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Joe Hard from Blitar
    9 out of 10

    "The great of meditation."

    Shanti Toya's Facebook page, edited

  • Review by a traveler from New York, United States

    "Overall peace n serenity. Host is genuinely trying to provide an oasis for guests. Have found forever friends here. Thanks for welcoming me like a family"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Ashley from Canada

    "Absolutely perfect place to relax, meditate and do yoga. The food is incredible - the location is stunning. There are local markets and shops nearby (15 minute walk). Hire scooter and can go everywhere! Quiet and peaceful. Wish I could stay much, much longer"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Liz from Hawaii, United States

    "Madly in love with this place and its incredible energy. Woke up to a peaceful yoga session each morning and got to know a great group of friendly down-to-earth people here. The room had a wonderful balcony which overlooked the lush tropical jungle. In the evening were excellent optional activities too. Unbelievable all was included. Wish I could stay longer!"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Chelsea from China

    "I loved staying here! It's a great place to meet people and feel like you are a part of a community from the get go! The budget room is adequate with a detached bathroom only a moment's walk away. For the price, you won't find a better deal with an included coconut, breakfast, and yoga! The pool is Devine and the property feels like you are in the jungle. In respect to location, you are secluded from town, but if you rent a motor bike, everything you need is very close by. The internet connection is slow, but available, and if you really need something speedy, you can ride to Ubud in just 25 minutes and seek out the cafe Habitat or Hubud which have lightening-fast connections. Overall, highly recommended for the not-so-picky free-at-heart!"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Iñigo from Spain

    "Mitt was very nice and he showed me the entire place when I arrived. I liked the place more in real live than photos showed. I enjoyed Yoga classes very much, and the good atmosphere to talk and share experiences with other guests. It's a good place to rest and connect with oneself. It's in middle of nature. I would have stayed there longer If I had more days of holidays."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Anita from United Kingdom

    "I had no idea there was so much included in my stay: three vegan meals and organised cultural activities every day, massages available on request, plus it's in the middle of the jungle! It's a very cute hidden gem - the organic garden, spring water pool... I wasn't expecting how far it was from the centre though (20 min drive), or the creepy crawlies - but that's part of being in the untouched wilderness. Mitt and his team are so caring and accommodating, plus it's very safe - there's a guard on watch who does checks throughout the night."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Made Agus Wirayasa from Bali, Indonesia
    9 out of 10

    "As a balinese i can feel that is place is sacred place and beautiful. I used to take some picture there and yes i love it. The harmony between people and nature ..."

    Shanti Toya's Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Andrea from Czechia

    "Beautiful and amazing place to stay. Mitt and his crew are really nice people who helped me as much as they could when i was ill. The accomodation includes free yoga classes, nice breakfast and activities during the day. Shanti toya - small paradise!"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Jose from Spain

    "Incredible and amazing setting with an amazing atmosphere!! All managed in a relaxed and professional manner by Mitt."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Raquel from United Kingdom

    "Amazing value for money. This is a magical place with a great vibe to meet likeminded individuals and spend a great time getting to know Bali. Yoga, coconuts, smiles, bugs, rice fields morning runs, great tofu, playing charades at night and friends. Many activities and social gatherings make it a bit difficult to "retreat". Employees are nice and always smiling. So are the farmers around the village. The dogs are not as friendly and bark a lot. The room gives amazing value for money, but please note that it has no bathroom and you have to walk down a not-so-friendly stairway through an open air forest to get to a shared toilet (full of hungry mosquitoes, frogs, butterflies and spiders), not ideal in the middle of a rainy night. Overall, thank you for a wonderful and unforgettable stay. Ps. I hated Bali (polluted, dirty, crowded, etc) but Shanti Toya was the best part of my trip. <3 :)"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Jessica from Colorado, United States

    "The ashram is lovely! The staff is wonderful and the location is stunning"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Nuala from Australia

    "So much fun laughter and great yoga at Shantitoya I will miss Mitt Aldi Evi and the team . Such lovely companionship from fellow travellers and those doing weekly yoga retreat. It's quite a communal type of hangout which I enjoyed. But you can be quite self contained if you choose.I requested downstairs room as the spiral staircase up the side of the Ganesh building was a challenge Mitt kindly moved me downstairs in Villa room with bath v nice & terrific hot water. The site is built on the side of a hill and consists of 2 & 3 story villas / bales access via stairs - no handrails to the communal buildings. Ask for a downstairs room if you're concerned. The setting is unique across a small road through rice fields at the end of a village The pool is spring fed and v refreshing. The activities are inspiring I did yoga Nidra /cooking / and took part in a Water blessing ceremony which was lovely Stay here if you want a little retreat in nature and like some gentle activities."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Holly from Canada

    "This place is beautiful and scenic and quiet. They offer activities but also let you have your space to do whatever you wish. It's remote and you'll need a motorbike or bicycle to get around but the place is so beautiful and relaxing I didn't mind just staying around there."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Eileen from Germany

    "Nice place and lovely people! Very friendly staff and so many free activities! Thanks so much!"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Suzanne from Illinois, United States

    "When I reserved a room for myself and my partner at Shanti Toya, I didn't know what to expect as it was my first time booking an accommodation through Airbnb. We had a wonderful experience there! Everyone who worked at Shanti Toya was so friendly and helpful. The yoga was great (thanks Evy!); I loved being able to practice yoga in the morning and the evening. Everyone we met who was staying there was awesome too; by the time we left it felt like saying goodbye to family. It was the perfect way for us to begin our trip to Bali as we were able to meet and compare notes & adventures with travelers at all stages of their journeys. The location itself is a bit remote which we enjoyed because we really got to relax and unwind. One note is that while Shanti Toya is nestled amongst rice fields, the rooms are definitely in a “jungle”. So if you like being in nature, this is the place for you! If you're not a fan of spiders, geckos, mosquitos, ants... it might not be the best fit. Thank you Mitt and Raldo for being so accessible, fun and communicative during our stay; it made a huge difference! Thanks Widi, Wayan, Kadek (both Kadeks!) and Evy for being so warm, welcoming, and helpful. And thanks everyone else that made our time at Shanti Toya an experience we won't forget!"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Marc Shepherd
    10 out of 10

    "Set up as a Charity Foundation this beautiful Ashram/ Retreat Center set's the perfect location for Individual retreats, training, or an individual stay and is deeply connected to the local community and resembles a part of the old Bali that gets more and more hard to find. The real deal for anyone who wants to practice yoga, relax, rejuvenate and connect to your surroundings."

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Martin from Czech Republic

    "This is amazing place. You are right in the forrest, but all the service you need. Very peaceful with focus on Yoga, message and relaxation. Mitt and all staff are very friendly and communicative. I can absolutely recommend this place for relaxation or discovery of Mengwi and Ubud area."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Dmitriy from Russia

    "Perfect place and very helpful staff !!! Thank you so much for relaxing in your guest!!! See your for the next year!!!"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Eva from Jersey

    "Lovely place to stay outside Ubud, as we were looking for something quiet in the countryside. The room was nice and the surrounding stunning. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. Shame we didn't have time to try any of the yoga classes being out and about exploring."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Benoît from Germany

    "We had a great stay. The place is a awesome and staff really friendly!"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Davron from Kentucky, United States

    "This place is amazing!. Being here allowed me to experience the part of Bali I was hoping to see before I left. Surrounded by rice fields, a natural spring. a gorgeous pool with a little relaxation bungalow, spacious rooms, and to top it off a full size kitchen! I've been a little to busy to enjoy the free yoga, but it's a wonderful perk of staying here. One of the most gracious and responsive hosts I've had since touching down in Bali (and having stayed 7 different places). It's so nice and peaceful that I booked an extra night.. I love Shanti Toya"

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Ola Sowa
    10 out of 10

    "Beautiful location of this ashram makes it great alternative to busy Ubud. Lush garden, great pool, and friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended."

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Azuka Kantimatta from France
    10 out of 10

    "One of the most authentic place I've been, amazing location with beautiful energy in the middle of the jungle. Pool, river, temple, yoga, smiles, and pure organic garden."

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Diane Xiu Lei Wat from United States
    10 out of 10

    "Thank you Shanti Toya for allow me the holding sacred space for me to connect with source."

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Helen Ulrike Schulz from Germany
    10 out of 10

    "We are just flying back home after three weeks in peaceful nature, enjoying the lush green of the forest listening to birds, frogs, and cicadas. Nice rooms, good vegetarian Balinese food, a beautiful yoga shala, an excellent Balinese yoga teacher, a nice pool to swim, and much more to discover with a German speaking guide, who lives since many years in Bali."

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Angie Quemby
    10 out of 10

    "Very peaceful and beautiful ashram in the jungle in Mengwi. Yoga, bodywork, kirtan, spring water swimming pool, organic garden, good food, great people. Come and enjoy!"

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Annie Snellen from Indonesia
    10 out of 10

    "Shanti Toya is such an absolutely beautiful and sacred healing space in jungle! The river is so soothing, the open air bamboo yoga studio in the trees is an amazing setting for practice, and taking walks through the neighboring rice paddies gives you such an authentic feel of Bali's beauty. The accommodations are clean, safe, and comfortable and I love the open air bathrooms. The spring water pool is stunning and so refreshing! It's so exciting to think about how much awesome healing, transformation, memories, and new friendships will be born here."

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Pradnya Wati from Indonesia
    9 out of 10

    "Here you find the authentic Bali; peaceful surrounding with lush jungle trees, the plantation, the holy spring water around you. Swim yourself quietly and feel home staying with us."

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Satya Frank Burger from Indonesia
    10 out of 10

    "An oasis of greenery, flowing water, and secluded from the busy-ness and traffic noise, far enough from Ubud's traffic jam and yet close enough to Nyuh Kuning, Green School, Sayan. This retreat center just opened its doors to public events, daily yoga classes, bodywork treatments, and private retreats. Rooms and whole houses (private kitchen) can be rented."

    Shanti Toya Facebook page, edited

  • Review by Florence from Germany

    "Es war dort sehr ruhig. Perfekte Location fürs entspannen. Aber man muss dazu sagen, dass man ohne einen Roller dort ziemlich aufgeschmissen ist."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Timo from Germany

    "Unsere Zeit bei Mitt war sehr angenehm. Unser wurden Tipps für das Umfeld gegeben. Die Unterkunft ist sehr sauber, liegt in den Reisfelder und ist sehr schön mit einem tollen Pool in der Anlage. Wir waren mit unserer 6 Monate alten Tochter 4 Wochen dort und würden wieder kommen. Es gibt jeden Tag tolle Aktivitäten, wie Joga oder Touren zu den Wasserfällen. Für uns war es eine sehr schöne Zeit. Danke Mitt, See you soon again ;-)"

    ai, edited

  • Review by Julie from France

    "Très bonne accueil, lieu en pleine nature c est agréable et en même temps chaleureux."

    airbnb website, edited

  • Review by Samiami from Spain

    "One of the best places to stay in Bali for sure. It is close to Ubud(15 min in bike), the personal is very kind, the situation is amazing. Totally recommended if you want to be one with nature. Uno de los mejores sitios en los que he estado en Bali, esta bastante cerca de Ubud, la gente del hotel es realmente agradable y la situacion del complejo es acojonante. Muy muy muy recomendable si quieres estar en contacto directo con la naturaleza."

    airbnb website, edited

Bali, Indonesia

Shanti Toya is a retreat center for yoga and well-being, and the home of the Gokul Yoga Bali school of yoga, which specializes in retreats and training.

from --

8 days / 7 nights

Availability

This vacation is available all year with arrival on Sunday, departure on Sunday.

Why choose BookYogaRetreats.com

  • Best Price Guaranteed
  • 5619 Yoga Retreats Worldwide
  • Friendly and Fast Customer Service
  • Offers for every budget
  • No Booking Fees