Shanti Toya

Bali, Indonesia

Shanti Toya is a retreat center for yoga and well-being, and the home of the Gokul Yoga Bali school of yoga, which specializes in retreats and training.

Yoga Retreats 2

8 Days Wellness Yoga Retreat in Bali, Indonesia

Available from December till July

Instruction language: English

from US$272

Really Good 8.8/10

Based on 81 reviews
from US$272
Price for:

8 days / 7 nights

Really Good 8.8/10

Based on 81 reviews
Limited availability
6 people currently interested

Really Good

Based on 81 reviews

7 Days Wellness and Tour Yoga Retreat in Bali

December 29, 2017-January 4, 2018

Instruction language: English

from US$420

Really Good 8.8/10

Based on 81 reviews
from US$420
Price for:

7 days / 6 nights

Really Good 8.8/10

Based on 81 reviews

Instructors 1

Jani Jaatinen

Jani started his yoga journey in the year 2000 with Janne Kontala, a legendary teacher and Jani’s good friend. Since then, he has been practicing Hatha and Ashtanga, and integrating yogic spiritual practices. Mahayogi lives in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia with his wife Jaci, running their own yoga shala. He also teaches internationally, regularly visiting Gokul Yoga Bali for retreats and teacher training workshops. Mahayogi’s dedication and devotion to yoga is an inspiration for everyone who has had the chance to study yoga with him.

Reviews 81

  • Veronika Strobl Austria

    December 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Herzliches Personal, verlässliche Umsetzung des Programms,Lage, Pool, Essen, Wasserkanister im Zimmer

    Quietschende Kastentür ;-)

  • Diane Jones Great Britain

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The yoga instructors were excellent (eg one taught at exclusive Four Seasons resort as well as at Shanti Toya). Yoga platform and equipment was of high quality and bug spray was gratefully received for evening sessions - it is in jungle area so expect bugs!

    The food was local vegetarian Balinese and was ok but limited choice. Location was in jungle area surrounded by paddy fields near village - superb and serene. Accommodation- I paid for single occupancy en-suite room which was definitely worth it. It was 2 huge rooms 1. Kitchen and dining room 2. Bedroom with large en- suite with double sinks and walk in shower. Others who did not pay extra were not so lucky and their rooms needed a good deep clean. Bedding and towels were clean and you need to ask for them to be changed. Staff were lovely and helpful.

    Lack of choice on food, I personally would have loved a big salad and got tired of tofu.

  • Anonymous

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Love the people and yoga instructors there especially Annie.

    Bathroom could use some cleaning. It was a bit dark at night. Luckily I brought a flashlight. Food was great but was getting repetitive at the very end. Ovetall it was very pleasant for the amount of money we paid. We had a great experience away from the city.

  • Anonymous

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Spending this week with beautiful people, excellent food, goog yoga & a great pool.

    More then once money (not in safety box) appeared to be taken from rooms..

  • Anonymous

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    A wonderful week long experience in the jungle of Bali. Met so many wonderful people from around the world and really advanced my yoga practice in 6 days. The food was absolutely delicious and opened my eye to vegetarian eating. The activities helped add fun and flavor to each day. The yoga instruction was perfectly suited for all levels.

    I was nervous about being a beginner but I was not alone and felt perfectly comfortable.

    If you don’t pay for the retreat in full prior to arrival, you’ll have to come up with enough cash on site (no credit card accepted) to cover the rest, which means going to an ATM off site and dealing with multiple withdrawals and fees since most ATMs locally have low limits. So either pay in full when you book or bring all the necessary cash.

    The place is so peaceful and magical it can create a false sense of security. Be smart, lock your doors and use the safe for your cash and valuables or you’ll like end up with missing cash. We had several incidents during our weeks unfortunately.

  • Jackie Wynsouw Croatia

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Loved the setting of the retreat. So peaceful! Loved the food and the Balinese experience! Yoga was nice and suitable for all levels. Really liked the fresh water pool

    Didn’t like that you could only pay with cash upon arrival. Cleanliness of room, especially bathroom wasn’t as good as I would’ve hoped

  • Lerato Matalasi Republic of South Africa

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Meeting new people and well organized program.

    Someone started stealing money from the guests. Very bad.

  • Anonymous

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Most of the yoga classes were very good, with good teachers.

    I also liked the Balinese experience activity, now I know much more about the culture.

    The staff were nice and friendly. Food was very good.

    Very good value for the money.

    The bathroom in my room was not clean when I came, I had to ask for cleaning, but it didn’t much help. I tried to clean it by myself, as good as I could with paper tissues.

  • Jon Ruiz De Loizaga Japan

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The location and nature of the place is just magical.

    Unfortunately in the week i was there there were four robberies to some of the guests.

  • Claire Butterfield Australia

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The wonderful like minded people I met and spent time with. I loved being in the jungle and doing yoga in the outdoor yoga shala. The teachers were amazing. The spring water pool is a highlight, so clean and perfect temperature. The Balinese experience tour is not to be missed. Shanti Toya is incredible value for money.

    Don't forget earplugs. If you are in a room near the entrance or you are a light sleeper the rooster will wake you up anytime from 3:30am to 5am. Also not a bad idea to bring an extra towel with you. Take them up on their suggestion to use the safe and lock your room as thefts have been reported in the past. The food is very good, but after about day 5 it can get a little repetitive so more variety would be great.

  • Anonymous

    November 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Die Yoga Kurse waren super und auch das angebotene Programm.

    Die nicht vorhandene Sauberkeit in den Zimmern!!!

  • Simon Thomassen Denmark

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Such a great place, 6 out of 5 stars, they could improve the cleaning but becides that, everything was perfect.

  • Scott Morris Australia

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The jungle, making friends with all the other participants and having similar interestes. The freshwater pool was the best thing, so clean and fresh and at just the right temperature. The slightly isolated location was great, we all dinned together and became the best friends.

    Our room could have been cleaner, more variety would be good in the meal options.

  • Anonymous

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    A lovely little community away from the crazy tourist trap. Great local yoga teachers and an all around energizing experience. The retreat has is in a residential village but the jungle and river is lovely. I found the experience really cosy.

    I found it really hard to communicate with Shanti Toya. Whilst I was lucky some other guests had issues: lost booking, and really poor accommodation. I also found that the fees paid varied widely. Do some research before going! Also careful with some of the local drivers, who will try to overcharge. Also bring a lockable suitcase as thefts had been reported, and plan some day trips as you may get bored being stuck on site.

  • Victoria Termann Germany

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Amazing Yoga Retreat in an amazing environment with great people, interesting additional activities and delicious food, an unforgettable experience!

    /

  • Larissa Lima Ireland

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The staff, food, yoga classes, extra activities everything was really special

  • Anonymous

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Super freundliches Personal!!!!! Alle sehr hilfsbereit!!!! Leckeres Essen!!!! Massage war der Hammer!!!!

    Wenn man die Ruhe und Abgeschiedenheit sucht, dann ist man hier genau richtig. Eine kleine Idylle im nirgendwo. Zwischen Reisfeldern und Jungle... Träumchen!!!!!

    Yoga-Trainer waren super. Es wäre nur schön gewesen, wenn mehr Yoga-Kurse pro Tag stattgefunden hätten. Aber dafür gab es interessante Ausflüge und andere Kurse (z.b.Kochkurs)

    Die Bettlaken und Handtücher, hätten zwischendurch gewechselt werden können - vor allem bei einem so langen Aufenthalt. - Sauberkeit war okay.

    Aber alles im allem, ist das Retreat nur zu empfehlen - vor allem für Alleinreisende, oder am Anfang seiner Reise. Man lernt schnell neue Leute kennen, kann (wenn man möchte) viel Zeit miteinander verbringen- aber sich auch zurückziehen. Man isst zusammen und die Gruppen sind relativ klein bzw überschaubar.

    Deswegen, trotz der kleinen Kritik, ein großen Daumen nach oben!

  • Hilde Mertens Belgium

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Naast de verschillende yoga stijlen , de kennismaking met de Balinese cultuur zoals bezoek aan een familiewoonerf , koken, dans....

  • Agnès Lagaize Indonesia

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Tous m a plus, je vais commencer par le personnel qui sont des personnes exceptionnelles, Très accueillantes, toujours le sourire et très attachant.

    L organisation de la semaine était super.

    Les repas très variés.

    Le site était magnifique et calme.

    Débutante en yoga il n' y a eu aucun problème.

    J ai rencontré de très belles personnes pour ma part =)

    C était une expérience et une semaine que je n oublierai jamais...

    Merci shanti toya

    Rien ne m'a déçu

  • Monica Wadwa Great Britain

    October 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    I never normally write reviews for places but I felt this one really deserved a great one and everyone needs to know how amazing this place is. I came away feeling so incredibly relaxed and with friends for life. Staying there for a week also fulfilled my dream of Living in a paradise jungle luxury treehouse. I've never stayed anywhere like it before and it was absolutely magical! Also it was my birthday on the Monday and they went above and beyond to make the day special for me; they gave me a cake (which are hard to find in Bali!) and gave me presents and a beautiful card!! Everyone sang to me and it was just such a special birthday in general. Feel so lucky to have experienced staying in this place and I highly recommend it to everyone!!

    Absolutely NOTHING

  • Juli Sofijski United States

    September 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    I loved yoga classes and the family atmosphere.

    Great food and it would be awesome if there was more fruit and raw veggies variety.

  • Anonymous

    September 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    -Quiet

    - Didn't have any extra activities as is posted in the web.

    - rats in the kitchen..missing hygiene.

  • Lorena Bahamondes Chile

    September 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    La pieza estaba encerrada entre la jungla, se ofrecen actividades extra que nunca existieron y se debieron contratar x fuera y salieron mas caras.

  • Marine Léonard United States

    September 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Quand on arrive à Shanti Toya, on se sent comme hors du temps, dans un cocon.

    Toute l'équipe est à l'écoute, ouvert à la discussion. C'est un vrai plaisir de partager à propos du yoga et de la culture balinaise.

    D'ailleurs l'expérience balinaise était si bien ! Loin des tours bondés de touriste, nous étions moins de 10 personnes. Cela nous a permis de réellement pouvoir discuter, poser des questions et découvrir paisiblement les coutumes et les rizières du coin.

    Les cours de yoga sont d'une telle qualité ! Les professeurs n'hésitent pas à expliquer quels sont les bénéfices des postures et à décomposer le mouvement pour que l'on puisse y parvenir plus facilement. Ils nous corrigent et nous aident à pousser plus loin si on le souhaite.

    Enfin, les repas sont excellents ! Wayan est un vrai chef qui ravira vos papilles à chaque repas.

    C'était dur de s'arracher à ce petit coin de paradis...

  • Anonymous

    September 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The ashram is quiet, into the wild, everything is as green as possible, and staff is kind, joyful and helpful.

  • Anonymous

    September 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    L'emplacement. Le personnel . Qualité des cours et activité.

    La propreté des chambre. Pas propre et pas nettoyée chaque jour. Literie et serviettes tachées. L'endroit est magnifique mais manque d'entretien.

  • Anna Natalya Indonesia

    September 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Great place to connect to the nature, with amazing beautiful people from around the globe in our retreat group. Friendly helpful staffs, great food, lovely activities, 5 star yoga instructors

    I was bitten a lot by forest or farm bugs, and still itchy even after 2 weeks, Don't forget to apply bugs repellent before going to the yoga room

  • Jo Woollacott New Zealand

    September 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    I liked the quality and variety of yoga instruction, the tranquility, the safe surroundings, the friendly people, the tasty food, and the lovely spring fed pool.

    No complaints!

  • Cristina Zarauz Indonesia

    July 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Location and people, magical

  • Chelsey Bennett Australia

    July 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    This retreat was literally everything I had hoped for and more! Not only was the yoga and meditation perfect the other activities and experiences were amazing. The two teachers were so welcoming and kind that it bettered your activities even more. The food was so yummy and everyone who worked at Shanti Toya is so helpful and welcoming. Sarah who runs the retreat is so helpful and it was so lovely that the people who worked there got to enjoy time and were interested in getting to know you. I would recommend this to EVERYONE!!

  • Kasey Brown Australia

    July 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The food, staff and location was incredible. Such a magical week and incredible experience.

  • Jack Helme Democratic Cambodia

    July 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Shanti Toya, first of all, will forever be a place that brings happiness and peace to me every time I think of it's name.

    From the varied and traditional food, to the incredibly friendly and welcome staff - everything at the retreat ensures you'll be able to find the right mindset to both ground yourself internally and appreciate those around you whilst amongst the natural jungle that surrounds this Eden.

    It's impossible not to mention the unbelievably good value for money, alongside the yoga and meditation, there is the opportunity to experience Balinese culture through many different enriching activities from a cooking class to dance performances and lessons.

    These locally led activities go hand in hand with the yogic practice - delivered by amazingly friendly and thoughtful instructors - to form a powerful, spiritually nourishing experience that will give you the best platform to fulfill any intentions and goals whilst bringing you the joy of realising and achieving so much more.

    It was an extremely difficult place to leave! The staff are too hard to say goodbye to, and don't even mention the little dogs...

  • Abigail Serafin United States

    July 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    This little ashram is everything I hoped for and more. Driving through rice fields that lead to this hidden gem in the jungle was an experience in itself. The guided yoga practice and meditation were lead by wonderful instructors and the whole staff was incredibly friendly and warm! I cannot think of a more wonderful place to be.

    The only thing I didn't like was having to say good-bye.

  • Tony Richards Australia

    July 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    This retreat is exceptional value ! ...So much so that i decided to stay another 7 days added on to my original 7 day booking.

    Mitt and Sarah and the local staff are very welcoming and friendly.

    The morning and evening yoga were most enjoyable and of a high standard where

    all participant skill levels were catered for.

    With people coming from all over the world the vibe is fun and very interesting.....

    Beautiful lush surrounding jungle........

    Go ahead and book this one !.

    Of course do not expect 5 star at the ashram . Considering the cost of the retreat and deep value given nothing much to report

  • Katrine Sonnenschein Australia

    June 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The quiet environment. The nature. The good and healthy food. Yoga was great.

  • Julieta Fioriti Malaysia

    June 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    I wouldn't have enough words to describe my week at Shanti Toya. Everything was better than imagined. The yoga classes, the pool, the food, the staff, the teachers, absolutely everyone made our stay just perfect. Each one works with so much love for what they do that you can feel it. They even threw me a birthday party that i will always remember. Be sure you don't miss the balinese experience which is wonderful and if you are reading this and you are doubting about booking or not (which i was), just go for it!

  • Simon Jones Australia

    June 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Was our first retreat , so no expectations. From the moment we walked through their door to the moment we left. The staff made a very special effort towards us. Both teachers gave us a very special yoga experience and our group of fellow yogis were very special too.

    I can find no fault with this retreat except that we ate too much:)). Because the food was so nice. Thankyou very much

  • Dominica Brown Thailand

    June 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Amazing staff! So friendly and helpful they made my stay the wonderful experience that it was.

  • Ellis Van Oosterzee Netherlands

    June 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Very sweet staff, great food, beautiful location

    I felt very uncomfortable in my single room: quality of the bed was really poor, the shower wasn't clean and was clogged so using the toilet was with my feet in water.

    I arrived late at night after a long travel, so was too tired too complain about the stains in my bed.

    I was offered another room, and although the bed was new, the room was as uncomfy as the one I had. On the other side of the ashrams were rooms with complete different atmosphere, nice and cosy. If I was offered such a room, I wouldn't have left after 3 nights.. A bit dissapointing there was no initiative for some refund.

  • Ronnie Gillissen Australia

    May 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Yoga, food, activities, guests, staff, location and the fresh water pool!

    The mattress

  • Megan Malloy Vietnam

    May 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The accommodation was clean & airconditioned. Ariel, Sara , other Sara & staff really make shanti toya an incredible experience. The grounds are kept up very well and are always cleaned. Three incredible puppies for when you need some extra love. This place felt like home after a week which made if very difficult to leave. I can't recommend Shanti Toya enough !

    I have nothing negative to say about Shanti Toya !

  • Zoe Peters Thailand

    May 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    I had the best time, would recommend to everyone. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Really didn't want to leave at the end of my week. As someone who has never done yoga before, I not only felt more confident by the end of the week but had so much fun doing it! Thank you Shanti Toya, I'll be back soon!

  • Slawa Walczak Great Britain

    May 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The place was amazing. All the staff super friendly. Yoga classes and yoga related classes were run so nicely. I had a blast there. Also via the group of yogis was such a lovely bunch too :) oh and a spring water pool was amazing .

    I was missing some raw food. More salads and fresh veggies rather than fried options. And as I shared my room with someone I didn't know the fact that there was no door to the bathroom in my room - made me super uncomfortable. But the room itself was ok

  • Michele Baker Belgium

    April 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    The programme was great. Yoga twice a day, meditation and cultural trips. It was very nice to have three meals included. The owners were very helpful and friendly chatting to us during dinner each night. The yoga instructor was amazing- very knowledgeable, supportive, well versed in many types of yoga as well as chanting and meditation. We not only had a great week of Yoga but we also made friends with some amazing people.

    There was nothing I did not like.

  • Simone Gartenmann Switzerland

    April 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Yoga and méditation with Jenny, la piscine, l'ambiance générale et la simplicité, tranquillité du lieu, l'accueil des propriétaires, la gentillesse du staff....tout!

  • Victoria Whittaker Indonesia

    April 2017, BookYogaRetreats

    Our stay at Shanti Toya was excellent. It was the cheapest retreat we could find in Bali so we went with relatively basic expectations and were pleasantly surprised. The class sizes allowed for a really personal experience, the retreat grounds and surrounding are so so beautiful, the food was varied and tasty, and the cultural activities (canang making, Bali experience etc.) made the whole package even better value for money. The safe, friendly atmosphere really allowed for us to be open to the new experience and over the week we forged wonderful friendships with the teachers and fellow guests. Don't waste time considering other, more expensive retreats; Shanti Toya is the best around! Thank you for stay.

    I literally can't recall any negatives...!

  • Claire Finka United Kingdom

    BookYogaRetreats.com

    Shanti Toya provides a great soft yoga retreat. We had an excellent and very varied programme of yoga and yoga related activities but the regime was not too strict and allowed for trips out as desired. My room was delightful, although I did see one that was not as good so it is worth checking this out. loved the setting in gardens next to rice fields, and the pool is excellent. The staff were always most helpful.My one criticism would be the food, breakfast was good but the attempt to provide “international” cuisine in the evening verged on disasterous. However I could not fault the value for money.

  • Lisa Hyder United States

    BookYogaRetreats website

    I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, the beautiful yoga shala, and the spring water pool. The staff are very kind and helpful. The food was fairly good. My room was very clean. Most of all I enjoyed the company of like minded people and had the opportunity for much healing through the many activities offered.

  • Diana Zavzeatii UAE

    BookYogaRetreats

    I had an amazing time at Shanti Toya.

    The location is just great. The place is built well. The pool is really nice. The room I was in was spacious with AC. The bathroom was semi-open and even though that is not my ideal type of bathroom because many bugs were coming in, i was still ok with it. It was a learning process for me to embrace the nature. The yoga shala is great, especially during the morning yoga, the sun was really nice from there. Yoga classes were super. Jenny, the yoga instructor is amazing, with wonderful people's skills! She made the stay so meaningful. She concentrated on many aspects of yoga, not just the physical one and I learned so much during my retreat from her. The host and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The program is flexible so any time I could chose to skip an activity. Food was good, but I would add more options. Daily coconut is such a great thing! The welcome massage is done by a very good masseuse. I even got a second massage on my last day for a reasonable price. The treatment area is surrounded by nature and adds to the experience. Ubud is just 20-25 min drive and a local driver (Raka +62 819 9913 5033) - he is the best) can take you anywhere you want around Bali for a great price. The best thing About Shanti Toya is that you meet so many amazing people who you bond with and feel that you know each other for a lifetime.

    I saw people coming back to Shanti Toya because they loved it so much. I would also like to come back one day!

  • Andrew Strang London

    BookYogaRetreats

    I really enjoyed the retreat. Ariel and his team do a great job and Jenny, the yoga teacher who ran most of the activities, was awesome. Always positive, knowledgeable and inclusive. Bearing in mind how economical this package is compared to most Ubud-area retreats, the accommodation, food and service were excellent. They include and care for the local community which was heartening to see. 9 out of 10. Many Thanks to all at Shanti Toya

  • Donald Cooper Vietnam

    BookYogaRetreats

    My retreat at Shanti Toya was amazingly great! After travelling in Vietnam for 2 months, I needed peace and quiet and a lot of stretches. Shanti Toya was perfect! Upon arrival I was warmly greeted by Ariel who invited me to have some lunch from the buffet while he explained the weeks' program. I was then given an upgraded beautiful large room with en-suite bathroom and a bliss-inducing view into the tree tops and beyond. Monday morning Jenny led myself and the only other participant (there had been major cancellations because of flooding in Bali the previous week) through some amazing restorative poses. Jenny proceeded to be fantastic throughout the week and adjusted flawlessly to others joining mid week, and to the varying evening classes where people from the community joined in. Jenny is very competent and was very generous with her hands on adjustments, generous feedback, and sweet small massages in the resting asanas. She introduced a number of different types of yoga and breathing practices, as well as fun and interesting retreat options including chanting, truth circles, and an a introduction to massage, each of which provided interesting challenges and personal rewards.The staff are all wonderfully friendly, helpful, and genuine and the food was great...especially the vegetarian versions of national dishes of some European countries..this from an omnivore who seldom doesn't have meat in his diet at least every other day.Thank you for a great week to everyone at Shanti Toya. I'm extending my Bali holiday, so I may be back for deeper stretches. Oh, and I loved the pool! ... especially lying on my back star gazing at Orion, my favorite constellation.

    I give it a 10/10I'm in Sanur, Bali at the moment.

  • Evelyn Bushari

    BookYogaRetreats

    It was my first time to Bali and I did not know what to expect.

    I was positively surprised and will remember Shanti Toya as a completely enchanting, magnificent ashram. It is a blissful place with small, intimate classes and passionate, committed staff. It was wonderful to experience yoga as the powerful transformative force it is there. Truly magnificent ! And thanks to everybody at Shanti Toya!

  • Sarah Schwarzenbach

    BookYogaRetreats

    Most friendly and helpful Staff, my time here was so peaceful. I liked the activities here very much specially Yoga. My room was clean and cosy with fan. The pool are amazing, Shanti Toya is a little paradise in jungle. The whole area is surrounded by Nature. Really a place to relax and rest. Good food, good people and good price. Thank you Shanti Toya for this amazing experience.

  • Claire Morgan

    BookYogaRetreats

    I came to this yoga retreat with high expectations after receiving an email saying there wasn't many spaces left (which wasn't correct, the retreat wasn't fully booked). Maybe my expectations were a little too high for the price range. The yoga was fantastic and I can't fault the teachers. They really made my experience, as well as the people on the retreat itself. I shared some fantastic moments due to the people, but I can't say due to Shanti Toya itself. The staff were fantastic and always there to help with a friendly smile, but the place lacked a certain atmosphere you would think to find at a yoga retreat. We didn't get all that was stated on the retreat package, missing the water and fire ceremony. The food was enjoyable but didn't vary too much throughout the week. I can't fault my experience and would like to thank the staff and yoga teachers but unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend as the retreat programme seemed inconsistent and workshops seemed thrown together.

    Response from the management of Shanti Toya

    Based on our listing page at BookYogaRetreats, water cleansing and fire ceremony are NOT included. We never said we are fully booked and we had about 11 guests at this time. All rooms have curtains and we don't have any rooms without one. We are not a 5 star hotel, where you pay 150 usd per night. We charge 200 USD for a week which includes food,yoga classes, activities and massage. As such it seems your expectations are quite high for our standard. We are open to complaints but we hope you can also understand we can only provide as much as the most we can offer considering our simple facilities and humble services.

  • Avital United Kingdom

    BookYogaRetreats

    I had an amazing time at Shanti Toya and highly recommend the yoga retreat!

    The yoga was brilliant (thanks Evie!) and I met so many lovely people, including both the other guests but also the wonderful staff (special thanks to Mitt and Raldo!)

    Highly recommended for anyone who wants to truly relax and reflect in an authentic "jungle" setting. The rooms afford privacy to whoever wants to "retreat", and the dining room was a great hang out area to socialise and laugh with new friends.

    Highlights were cooking and sharing home cuisine with everyone (thanks Shanti Toya for buying all the groceries!) and turning the yoga room into a dance floor for our last night :)

    I wasn't expecting to have such a great time - it was definitely an emotional goodbye! Hopefully I'll be back again soon.

  • Julie Poole England

    BookYogaRetreats

    We had a great time and Azuka the main yoga instructor was amazing. Our room was, apparently, the best room and it was huge with a great view of the jungle. The bathroom was very tatty and the towels were really old. The food was sometimes pretty good and other times very basic but overall I enjoyed the food. The swimming pool was spring fed which was lovely. The yoga instructor did not turn up for one of the evening classes. The location is amazing but a little bit of love and maintenance would make such a difference. Also, some new crockery and towels would be good.

    We were asked once if we wanted our room cleaned during the 7 days.

    Overall we really enjoyed our stay and it was great value.

  • William France

    BookYogaRetreats

    Tout s'est très bien passé, le personnel est tellement gentil et ce fut une expérience spirituelle hors du commun pour moi, je me suis senti comme chez moi, c'est très important pour moi qui suis souvent sur la route. Un grand merci à shanti toya, pradnya et tout le monde :-)

Testimonials 36

  • a traveler South Korea

    airbnb website

    Good place for retreat. friendly staff, beautiful swimming pool, perfect yoga session.

  • Greta Pasztor

    Shanti Toya's Facebook page

    A great place for relaxing, making new friendships and connecting with nature. All of this through yoga, meditation, massage, pleasant social activities, ect. Whether alone or as a couple or a smaller group, you will enjoy this place, that is guaranteed. I highly recommend it, I have had one whole week of the above lately and it was a great, refreshing experience I will always have as a sweet memory.

  • Joe Hard Blitar

    Shanti Toya's Facebook page

    The great of meditation.

  • a traveler New York, United States

    airbnb website

    Overall peace n serenity. Host is genuinely trying to provide an oasis for guests. Have found forever friends here. Thanks for welcoming me like a family

  • Ashley Canada

    airbnb website

    Absolutely perfect place to relax, meditate and do yoga. The food is incredible - the location is stunning. There are local markets and shops nearby (15 minute walk). Hire scooter and can go everywhere! Quiet and peaceful. Wish I could stay much, much longer

  • Liz Hawaii, United States

    airbnb website

    Madly in love with this place and its incredible energy. Woke up to a peaceful yoga session each morning and got to know a great group of friendly down-to-earth people here. The room had a wonderful balcony which overlooked the lush tropical jungle. In the evening were excellent optional activities too. Unbelievable all was included. Wish I could stay longer!

  • Chelsea China

    airbnb website

    I loved staying here! It's a great place to meet people and feel like you are a part of a community from the get go! The budget room is adequate with a detached bathroom only a moment's walk away. For the price, you won't find a better deal with an included coconut, breakfast, and yoga! The pool is Devine and the property feels like you are in the jungle. In respect to location, you are secluded from town, but if you rent a motor bike, everything you need is very close by. The internet connection is slow, but available, and if you really need something speedy, you can ride to Ubud in just 25 minutes and seek out the cafe Habitat or Hubud which have lightening-fast connections. Overall, highly recommended for the not-so-picky free-at-heart!

  • Iñigo Spain

    airbnb website

    Mitt was very nice and he showed me the entire place when I arrived. I liked the place more in real live than photos showed. I enjoyed Yoga classes very much, and the good atmosphere to talk and share experiences with other guests. It's a good place to rest and connect with oneself. It's in middle of nature. I would have stayed there longer If I had more days of holidays.

  • Anita United Kingdom

    airbnb website

    I had no idea there was so much included in my stay: three vegan meals and organised cultural activities every day, massages available on request, plus it's in the middle of the jungle! It's a very cute hidden gem - the organic garden, spring water pool... I wasn't expecting how far it was from the centre though (20 min drive), or the creepy crawlies - but that's part of being in the untouched wilderness. Mitt and his team are so caring and accommodating, plus it's very safe - there's a guard on watch who does checks throughout the night.

  • Made Agus Wirayasa Bali, Indonesia

    Shanti Toya's Facebook page

    As a balinese i can feel that is place is sacred place and beautiful. I used to take some picture there and yes i love it. The harmony between people and nature ...

  • Andrea Czechia

    airbnb website

    Beautiful and amazing place to stay. Mitt and his crew are really nice people who helped me as much as they could when i was ill. The accomodation includes free yoga classes, nice breakfast and activities during the day. Shanti toya - small paradise!

  • Jose Spain

    airbnb website

    Incredible and amazing setting with an amazing atmosphere!! All managed in a relaxed and professional manner by Mitt.

  • Raquel United Kingdom

    airbnb website

    Amazing value for money. This is a magical place with a great vibe to meet likeminded individuals and spend a great time getting to know Bali. Yoga, coconuts, smiles, bugs, rice fields morning runs, great tofu, playing charades at night and friends. Many activities and social gatherings make it a bit difficult to "retreat". Employees are nice and always smiling. So are the farmers around the village. The dogs are not as friendly and bark a lot. The room gives amazing value for money, but please note that it has no bathroom and you have to walk down a not-so-friendly stairway through an open air forest to get to a shared toilet (full of hungry mosquitoes, frogs, butterflies and spiders), not ideal in the middle of a rainy night. Overall, thank you for a wonderful and unforgettable stay. Ps. I hated Bali (polluted, dirty, crowded, etc) but Shanti Toya was the best part of my trip. <3 :)

  • Jessica Colorado, United States

    airbnb website

    The ashram is lovely! The staff is wonderful and the location is stunning

  • Nuala Australia

    airbnb website

    So much fun laughter and great yoga at Shantitoya I will miss Mitt Aldi Evi and the team . Such lovely companionship from fellow travellers and those doing weekly yoga retreat. It's quite a communal type of hangout which I enjoyed. But you can be quite self contained if you choose.I requested downstairs room as the spiral staircase up the side of the Ganesh building was a challenge Mitt kindly moved me downstairs in Villa room with bath v nice & terrific hot water. The site is built on the side of a hill and consists of 2 & 3 story villas / bales access via stairs - no handrails to the communal buildings. Ask for a downstairs room if you're concerned. The setting is unique across a small road through rice fields at the end of a village The pool is spring fed and v refreshing. The activities are inspiring I did yoga Nidra /cooking / and took part in a Water blessing ceremony which was lovely Stay here if you want a little retreat in nature and like some gentle activities.

  • Holly Canada

    airbnb website

    This place is beautiful and scenic and quiet. They offer activities but also let you have your space to do whatever you wish. It's remote and you'll need a motorbike or bicycle to get around but the place is so beautiful and relaxing I didn't mind just staying around there.

  • Eileen Germany

    airbnb website

    Nice place and lovely people! Very friendly staff and so many free activities! Thanks so much!

  • Suzanne Illinois, United States

    airbnb website

    When I reserved a room for myself and my partner at Shanti Toya, I didn't know what to expect as it was my first time booking an accommodation through Airbnb. We had a wonderful experience there! Everyone who worked at Shanti Toya was so friendly and helpful. The yoga was great (thanks Evy!); I loved being able to practice yoga in the morning and the evening. Everyone we met who was staying there was awesome too; by the time we left it felt like saying goodbye to family. It was the perfect way for us to begin our trip to Bali as we were able to meet and compare notes & adventures with travelers at all stages of their journeys. The location itself is a bit remote which we enjoyed because we really got to relax and unwind. One note is that while Shanti Toya is nestled amongst rice fields, the rooms are definitely in a “jungle”. So if you like being in nature, this is the place for you! If you're not a fan of spiders, geckos, mosquitos, ants... it might not be the best fit. Thank you Mitt and Raldo for being so accessible, fun and communicative during our stay; it made a huge difference! Thanks Widi, Wayan, Kadek (both Kadeks!) and Evy for being so warm, welcoming, and helpful. And thanks everyone else that made our time at Shanti Toya an experience we won't forget!

  • Marc Shepherd

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    Set up as a Charity Foundation this beautiful Ashram/ Retreat Center set's the perfect location for Individual retreats, training, or an individual stay and is deeply connected to the local community and resembles a part of the old Bali that gets more and more hard to find. The real deal for anyone who wants to practice yoga, relax, rejuvenate and connect to your surroundings.

  • Martin Czech Republic

    airbnb website

    This is amazing place. You are right in the forrest, but all the service you need. Very peaceful with focus on Yoga, message and relaxation. Mitt and all staff are very friendly and communicative. I can absolutely recommend this place for relaxation or discovery of Mengwi and Ubud area.

  • Dmitriy Russia

    airbnb website

    Perfect place and very helpful staff !!! Thank you so much for relaxing in your guest!!! See your for the next year!!!

  • Eva Jersey

    airbnb website

    Lovely place to stay outside Ubud, as we were looking for something quiet in the countryside. The room was nice and the surrounding stunning. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. Shame we didn't have time to try any of the yoga classes being out and about exploring.

  • Benoît Germany

    airbnb website

    We had a great stay. The place is a awesome and staff really friendly!

  • Davron Kentucky, United States

    airbnb website

    This place is amazing!. Being here allowed me to experience the part of Bali I was hoping to see before I left. Surrounded by rice fields, a natural spring. a gorgeous pool with a little relaxation bungalow, spacious rooms, and to top it off a full size kitchen! I've been a little to busy to enjoy the free yoga, but it's a wonderful perk of staying here. One of the most gracious and responsive hosts I've had since touching down in Bali (and having stayed 7 different places). It's so nice and peaceful that I booked an extra night.. I love Shanti Toya

  • Ola Sowa

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    Beautiful location of this ashram makes it great alternative to busy Ubud. Lush garden, great pool, and friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Azuka Kantimatta France

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    One of the most authentic place I've been, amazing location with beautiful energy in the middle of the jungle. Pool, river, temple, yoga, smiles, and pure organic garden.

  • Diane Xiu Lei Wat United States

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    Thank you Shanti Toya for allow me the holding sacred space for me to connect with source.

  • Helen Ulrike Schulz Germany

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    We are just flying back home after three weeks in peaceful nature, enjoying the lush green of the forest listening to birds, frogs, and cicadas. Nice rooms, good vegetarian Balinese food, a beautiful yoga shala, an excellent Balinese yoga teacher, a nice pool to swim, and much more to discover with a German speaking guide, who lives since many years in Bali.

  • Angie Quemby

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    Very peaceful and beautiful ashram in the jungle in Mengwi. Yoga, bodywork, kirtan, spring water swimming pool, organic garden, good food, great people. Come and enjoy!

  • Annie Snellen Indonesia

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    Shanti Toya is such an absolutely beautiful and sacred healing space in jungle! The river is so soothing, the open air bamboo yoga studio in the trees is an amazing setting for practice, and taking walks through the neighboring rice paddies gives you such an authentic feel of Bali's beauty. The accommodations are clean, safe, and comfortable and I love the open air bathrooms. The spring water pool is stunning and so refreshing! It's so exciting to think about how much awesome healing, transformation, memories, and new friendships will be born here.

  • Pradnya Wati Indonesia

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    Here you find the authentic Bali; peaceful surrounding with lush jungle trees, the plantation, the holy spring water around you. Swim yourself quietly and feel home staying with us.

  • Satya Frank Burger Indonesia

    Shanti Toya Facebook page

    An oasis of greenery, flowing water, and secluded from the busy-ness and traffic noise, far enough from Ubud's traffic jam and yet close enough to Nyuh Kuning, Green School, Sayan. This retreat center just opened its doors to public events, daily yoga classes, bodywork treatments, and private retreats. Rooms and whole houses (private kitchen) can be rented.

  • Florence Germany

    airbnb website

    Es war dort sehr ruhig. Perfekte Location fürs entspannen. Aber man muss dazu sagen, dass man ohne einen Roller dort ziemlich aufgeschmissen ist.

  • Timo Germany

    ai

    Unsere Zeit bei Mitt war sehr angenehm. Unser wurden Tipps für das Umfeld gegeben. Die Unterkunft ist sehr sauber, liegt in den Reisfelder und ist sehr schön mit einem tollen Pool in der Anlage. Wir waren mit unserer 6 Monate alten Tochter 4 Wochen dort und würden wieder kommen. Es gibt jeden Tag tolle Aktivitäten, wie Joga oder Touren zu den Wasserfällen. Für uns war es eine sehr schöne Zeit. Danke Mitt, See you soon again ;-)

  • Julie France

    airbnb website

    Très bonne accueil, lieu en pleine nature c est agréable et en même temps chaleureux.

  • Samiami Spain

    airbnb website

    One of the best places to stay in Bali for sure. It is close to Ubud(15 min in bike), the personal is very kind, the situation is amazing. Totally recommended if you want to be one with nature. Uno de los mejores sitios en los que he estado en Bali, esta bastante cerca de Ubud, la gente del hotel es realmente agradable y la situacion del complejo es acojonante. Muy muy muy recomendable si quieres estar en contacto directo con la naturaleza.

Spread the love

Share Shanti Toya's page and retreats with your network