Jaisiyaram

Vrindavan, India

Jaisiyaram organizes yoga retreats at an ashram and holidays in India where you will come back lighter and happier.

Yoga Retreats 4

14 Days Ayurveda Yoga Retreat India

Available from November till August

Instruction language: English

from US$1,897
from US$1,897
Price for:

14 days / 13 nights

21 Days Ayurveda Yoga Retreat India

Available from November till August

Instruction language: English

from US$2,792
from US$2,792
Price for:

21 days / 20 nights

7 Days Ayurveda Yoga Retreat India

Available from November till August

Instruction language: English

from US$966
from US$966
Price for:

7 days / 6 nights

28 Days Ayurveda Yoga Retreat India

Available from November till August

Instruction language: English

from US$3,664
from US$3,664
Price for:

28 days / 27 nights

Instructors 1

Yashendu Goswami

Growing up at an ashram, he learned about yoga, the holy scriptures, and the classical philosophic texts as a child. At the age of 14, he started giving lectures and thus traveling through whole India. In 1995, he started his studies of astrology and the methods of palmistry and face-reading which are connected with astrological studies. Through his studies of Ayurveda, together with years of watching how the own body reacts, Yashendu gained a profound knowledge of vegetarian food and Ayurvedic diet.

Reviews 1

    • Karine France

      BookYogaRetreats Website

      I was so disillusioned with this ashram. If they live the same experience, I would like other customers to share it with me, in a very factual manner. What I will try to do now.

      First, I had to wait three hours and a half before the driver for my transfer arrives to the airport. I had no notification to advise me of the delay and had to call the ashram several times to have information. When I was in the car, I didn’t know if I would arrive alive to the ashram. The driver was so tired, he was almost sleeping at the same time he was driving and the car went from one side to the other on the road. The same happened when we decided to go to Agra and see the Taj Mahal. But I will talk about this later. I don’t know why he was so tired, but the people who manage him should be more attentive because he has our lives into his hands.

      The next bad experience I had was when a young man of the staff shaked my hand at my arrival. After a moment he was still holding it, looking at me with a mocking smile. I had to release my hand by force so he exploded with laughter. It made me feel very bad.

      For this stay, the program I chose was the weight loss program. I was supposed to have a 10 km walk in the morning at 7 am, before breakfast, but nobody seemed to be informed. I finally could obtain two walks during my stay, but after lunch.

      The program also included a massage every second day. What a surprise when I saw the room was in fact a kind of garage, not heated, full of dust and of all kind of bazaar, with a wood table in the middle. The lady put a little heater at the end of the table and I had to take care not to have my feet burnt. I was very far from a treatment in a warm and peaceful atmosphere. I had no steam treatment at all and even could not see any installation like SPA, sauna or hammam.

      The restaurant where I had to take my meals was good (no family meals as shown on the photos…), but once again, nobody of the staff was informed about my weight loss program and I had French fries and sandwich for my first breakfast! I had to ask the owner (who is German) to intervene: the communication with the staff in English is impossible.

      What I don’t understand is how they can speak about weight loss program when there’s no physician, no dietitian or nutritionist to have a consultation the first day, to measure the weight at the beginning, to follow the progresses and adapt the program if necessary all along the stay? When I talked about this to the owner, he answered me the objective was not to lose weight but feel good with yoga. I just want to specify that you have more than half a dozen references to weight loss in the text of the offer!

      The manager of the ashram also mentioned facilities to organize a tour to Taj Mahal. We decided to accept, the two other guests and I. But in fact, we had a driver to go there and bring us back, no guide. Before leaving the ashram, we told the manager that we’ll stay for one night. He promised the driver would help us to find a hotel and then will show us different things in Agra. But it seemed like he was coming there for the first time, and could not help us: we had to find a hotel by ourselves and we made the visit of Taj Mahal on our own.

      The yoga classes were great and the teacher, a very good man, always trying to explain the benefits of each position. But the specificities of each guest program were not taken into account.

      Another guest and I finally left the ashram after only one week (my program was two weeks, and the other guest’s four weeks), with an important extra cost to change my flight. I could not obtain any goodwill gesture from the ashram for this big scam.

      Jaisiyaram's response:

      Dear Karine,

      First of all thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience – which I also appreciated when you wrote to me while you were in our Ashram. In that time, I got to know that after settling the primary issues, you had found your rhythm in the Ashram and were enjoying.

      That’s how I was so surprised when you decided to leave early.

      First of all, I want to express that I am sorry that you left my home with such a feeling. My family was not able to be there in the time you were, however I can assure you that it is the first time we get such a feedback. During our absence, we left our Ashram in the hands of our capable manager who speaks English and with whom you did have conversations as well. He was informed about your retreat and its inclusions as well.

      Obviously we will talk to him about the management of the driver, as this is a very important point which we cannot accept. The safety of our guests is our very first priority!

      I am very surprised that you had such feelings about our massage room. It is a nice Ayurveda setup – the wood table is traditional – with the equipment for all treatments in it. As you mention a heater, the room is heated and for extra comfort, we add a heater on the table – it would have been nice of you to tell when it got too warm for you.

      What you are telling about your program, I want to once more express that the focus of our retreat is for our guests to feel good with their bodies, to get a positive body feeling and not be obsessed with counting calories or kilograms. This is why we intentionally do NOT weigh our guests at the beginning of their stay.

      We will however reconsider this offer of a ‘weight loss retreat’, as it seems people come with an idea which does not fit with our overall approach on life and feelings in life.

      We are happy however that you enjoyed your meal as well as the yoga classes. And I can assure you that you and all our guests have our goodwill and wish for the best – which is why I gave you the offer for extra facilities when I heard of your issues.

      Finally, I would like to add that India is sometimes a shocking experience, that there are a lot of differences in culture and surrounding and that not everybody feels comfortable there, either, especially considering the big gap in between rich and poor. Each of our participants however contributes to helping those who need it the most because our work with Yoga and Ayurveda supports our charity school for unprivileged children, which you have surely seen during your stay as well!

      Yours faithfully, Jaisiyaram Team

    Testimonials 7

    • Jodie Tsekrekas

      Google review

      From the Minute I entered the gate of the beautiful Ashram, it stole my heart! The family and friends that I've met there will forever be in my heart. I truly cannot wait until I can return! The most amazing experience ever. (The food was Spot on delish as well as the daily Massage!) Oh, I dream of my return!!

    • Maeve Domican

      Google review

      First time to India can be scary, especially if you are a woman traveling on your own. But when you arrive in the ashram and are welcomed, you feel immediately that you are part of a family. Everyone is really nice and loving. I stayed at the ashram for 1 week in 2013. Since then I have stayed in contact and feel that they are never far away. When I can I will visit again. The food in the ashram was amazing. Not to speak about the daily ayurvedic massages ; heaven !!! I've incorporated most of the advises being given when I left in my life and feel much healthier.

    • Melissa Mamayek

      Google review

      I had a wonderful week at the ashram celebrating Holi. I felt like an immediate part of the family. It was my first experience in India and after finishing a two-month stay in the country, I'm convinced it was the best introduction possible. Fun, relaxing and an excellent learning experience.

    • Peter Draper

      Google review

      Beautiful place and beautiful people. This haven of tranquility sits amidst the bustling, noisy and intriguing village of Vrindavan. The kids at the school are a joy to meet, the family are wonderful people and bonus....... monkeys!!!!!!!!!!

    • Melanie Gaudette and Francine Lecours Canada

      Jaisiyaram website

      When I saw the Ashram, I already knew that its a safe and nice place. I felt like a member of your family and is sad that I did not have time to stay longer, one day was not enough. I reached very tired and it was the perfect place to recharge my energy, I tried ayurvedic massage for the first time and it was an amazing experience. The city is very nice, I spent 3 hours walking around the city saw beautiful temples and had a really great time.

    • Anna Juricic Italy

      Jaisiyaram website

      Thank you so much for taking care of me and my little Leo. We received so much love and care here from all of you especially the kids, we left this place knowing that we found our second home here! Everything was great, the food, the ayurvedic massage, your kindness and patience with Leos wishes. I will never forget my stay here, I have really learned a lot from this experience. I love you all, and I want to give a special mention to my yoga teacher Pawan, you will be in my heart forever and I know one day, you will be the number one yoga teacher in the world!

    • Karin Heinrich Germany

      Jaisiyaram website

      Thank you for a wonderful week here at the Ashram! Your place is lovely and feels like a little paradise! I loved the food and the peaceful environment, I certainly will come back and is looking forward to it.

    Spread the love

    Share Jaisiyaram's page and retreats with your network