Blue Indigo Cottage Retreat Center offers a peaceful environment for you to learn or deepen your practice of meditation and yoga with health-oriented meals.

Yoga Retreats (7)

Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites
Remove from Favorites Add to Favorites

Videos (2)

Instructors (2)

Diwakar Dadhich

Michaela Baborova

Reviews (56)

Maple Chau

from United States, February 2019

The place, the food, the classes, the hammocks haha

Christy lui

from Hong Kong, October 2018

"Budgetary yoga retreat in Siem Reap "

The staff and instructors are very nice.

Kim W

from Malaysia, September 2018

"Loved it ... especially the Artful care & beauty everywhere "

Everywhere I looked was beauty. Truly ‘chill’ place. The massage was amazing (def an overlooked resource)! Internet was excellent. The people were so very nice.

Nicole O'meara

from Singapore, July 2018

"No Regret "

It is an intimate experience with wonderful people. Nina was so friendly and welcoming and the guest instructors were all of a really high standard. It was nice to sit down and eat together after classes or relax in the beautiful garden. I am a beginner with yoga, the other participants were very experienced. It didn’t matter at all.

Alessia Leonetti

from Cambodia, November 2017

"Great retreat "

Classes and food were really good!

Zsolt Kovacs

from Hong Kong, October 2017

"Great 4 days"

Restorative and yin yogas :-) The place is charming, people are lovely. The entire atmosphere is really really good there. Jean the owner gave a good overview right at check in and also gave a warm-hearted farewell at departure.

Sonja Krenz

from Cambodia, May 2018

Die Yoga Lehrer waren sehr nett und qualifiziert. Das Personal war sehr freundlich und ist auf Wünsche eingegangen. Das Essen war sehr gesund und lecker.

Nikmatul Rohmah

from Singapore, June 2019

The acro yoga is one of my

Matthew Foster

from Great Britain, June 2019

"Great instructors who are very friendly and professional "

The yoga sessions were great, quality instructors who know what they are doing.

Anonymous

from Singapore, June 2019

"Good vibes but not for clean freaks "

Good schedule and good instructors. My favorite was aerial yoga. People were nice and friendly and frankly the only saving grace for me.

Julie Gabriel

from Great Britain, April 2019

"Perfect...!"

I was looking for a simple place to do yoga and relax for a month. Blue Indigo was everything and more. The classes are great, teachers are awesome, very nice and knowledgeable. The food is simple and fresh. The surroundings are stunning, a garden of Eden in the middle of the city. The owners are so generous and kind, they look after you really well. The whole month was like a dream. I highly recommend.

Michele Quinn-phillips

from Australia, March 2019

"Wonderful and so serence"

I can't speak highly enough of Blue Indigo Retreat and its staff after spending over a month there. It's like a home away from home and everyone is treated like family. The accommodation is great, simple and very comfortable, its a little haven of tranquility staying there. The food is beautiful, lovingly cooked fresh each day by their wonderful cooks and they have a simple, but lovely selection of vegetarian food. Yoga - Ariel Yoga and Meditation Teachers are wonderful, just like the array of classes they offer which are free to guests staying at Blue Indigo. Life is about sharing and this is exactly what you get at Blue Indigo. Whether you are part of a group, a couple or travelling solo like myself, you will not be disappointed with your stay. Blue Indigo is open every day for people staying in or around Siem Reap to come and join any of their classes they offer for a small cost. Believe me its worth it! Now I have found this little gem it will remain my little haven and my place to go when I need to rebalance myself.

Anonymous

from Indonesia, January 2019

"If you have awesome experience, this place is poor for you."

Private accommodation.

Group of people.

The environment inside is very different than in the city.

This isn't yoga retreat for one month, we were only two paying guests who where there for the whole month, I thought that there will be any program of theory lecture, that we will be learning new things, but nothing was there and when time was going, everything was the same and very boring, people were changing, so do not trust them that this is a retreat with the theory of yoga, many things in description is misleading but they will write you that it´s not and also in reply to my review will be arguing that everything was the best, because they don´t have any effort to make the yoga retreat the best, because owners are not yogis, they do it only because of their business and it is simply bad...

Stephanie Chase

from Kuwait, January 2019

"Aerial ytt review"

Our teacher was amazing! She was very knowledgeable, helpful, and kind. I respect her values and philosophies very much! A beautiful person!

Anonymous

from Italy, December 2018

"Fantastic experience at Blue Inidigo"

The all experience was super: made of fantastic people, excellent place, great courses and atmosphere

Marta Garcia De Los Salmones

from Great Britain, November 2018

"Happy days"

It was one amazing experience, fell calm, energized, have a good laugh and interesting conversations with the teachers and fellow students, it felt like a family. A week that I will cherish for ever

Lindsay Mack

from Thailand, November 2018

"A Yoga Retreat with True Depth"

I cannot stress how much I valued my time at Blue Indigo! It was a truly beautiful experience and I wish I had more time to spend there. From the moment I arrived welcomed into the community. It truly is a community of loving individuals at Blue Indigo, from the instructors to those who attend. The housing is quaint and down to earth. The food is delicious and feels very 'clean.' This retreat offers many types of yoga throughout the day so you can truly make this experience yours. Not only are their guided yoga classes, meditation sessions, and lectures but there is a space for you to dive deeper into your own practice. Among the plants you can find a peaceful spot in a hammock or in a shala by the pond to do your own meditations, reading, journaling, dancing, etc. You can truly be yourself at this place and dive as deep as you would like. The teachers here really bring in the depth of yoga...there will be no yoga robots at Blue Indigo! This yoga is not just surface level of moving your body around (Yes! You will move your body quite a lot!!) but you are constantly invited to check in with the breath and what is going on inside of you... invited to acknowledge, accept, heal, etc. I learned something new every session. Everybody you meet, instructors and attendees alike, can help you grow and help you along in your journey. This place and the people I met will forever hold a special place in my heart.

Anonymous

from India, April 2018

"Beautiful place, amazing people"

The welcoming atmosphere and beautiful surroundings

Roberta De Oliveira Santos

from United States, March 2018

"Peace, Love and Awareness"

There aren’t enough words to discribe my experience at the Blue Indigo retreat but if I have to name tree it would be Peace, Love and Awareness.

This place of Yoga and Meditation is an environment of arts with a unique charm that comes together with the beauty of Cambodia, and lots of caring kittens. I love the nature and the art of those smiling people who were always friendly and kind to me.

I enjoyed the delicious food as I also enjoyed the table conversations as well. It was a small moment of reflection that made great expierences for me. I made a lot of friends from different cultures. Those beautiful people and experiences helped me in my process of evolution.

I had very good and dedicated teachers who know their Yoga with passion and know how to transmit it patiently to their pupils.

After one month of making friends, learning the Asanas, being in meditations, visiting important temples, having a good time,... it was hard to leave. I knew at the moment of saying goodbye that I was going to miss this place and energy.

Thank you all. One day I will go back

Cat Lamb

from Australia, May 2017

"Peaceful retreat with gorgeous spaces where you can completely switch off."

The atmosphere, all the little touches around the property, Kat was a great teacher. Nina was lovely too - beautiful place. Hammocks were fab.

Shue Campbell

from Great Britain, May 2017

"Simply but perfect "

Blue Indigo is a very quirky retreat. I highly recommend this if you're look for a place to relax and gather your thoughts. The facilities are basic and not what you'll get in a luxury retreat but it's the simplicity that makes it special.

The teachers Kat and Laura were fantastic and very knowledgeable. They both added a great relaxed and comforting energy to the place.

Overall staff at the retreat were lovely and the food was amazing despite it being vegetarian.

The mango tree! The mangoes were very yummy!

Christine Third

from Great Britain, April 2017

Very friendly people and excellent teaching. A calm and beautiful place to be.

Michael Hohl

from Thailand, April 2019

"Ein gutes Erlebnis :-)"

Schöne und entspannte Atmosphäre. Ich wollte mal was anderes erleben und das habe ich.

Sehr spannende Eindrücke und Menschen kennengelernt. Die Kurse sind abwechslungsreich und für einen nicht Yoga Praktiziere anstrengend.

Total 6 Tage eine schöne Zeit und der Körper und Geist wird es dir danken :-)

Angestellte sind super freundliche Menschen, danke euch nochmals.

Susan Zimmerli

from Cambodia, March 2019

"a great time :-)"

all the instructors where great...everyone different, so it was a good mix...

also aeriel yoga which is so much fun.

I also like the atmosphere there..is a little place with just a few people...so its never overcrowded.

all of us stay there for longer..so it was a bit like family :-)

Kathrin Schwarz

from Germany, January 2019

Intensität und Qualität des Kurses, ausführliches, bebildertes Lernmaterial, achtsames und auf die Möglichkeiten der Einelnen bezogenes Arbeiten der Lehrerinnen. Tolle Frauen und angenehmes Miteinander im gesamten Retreat. Ausflüge, Tempelbesuch, quasi veganes, abwechslungsreiches Essen. Bravo!

Natalia Romero

from Malta, December 2018

"Blue Indigo, una experiencia transformadora "

Desde hace algún tiempo que viajo, he entendido que lo que hace los viajes inolvidables, no son los lugares, son las personas. Y en Blue Indigo no hubo excepción, encontré personas maravillosas. Pero, debo destacar, que el lugar ha superado mis expectativas. Comparando precio y calidad, encontré un ambiente estratégicamente dispuesto y pensado para el descanso, el disfrute y la práctica de Yoga. Además de estar muy bien ubicado, cercano a la zona de restaurantes y comercio de Siemp Riep.

Anonymous

from Cambodia, August 2018

Everytime different teachers for a class, nice food, good rooms, good organized, very clean

Lilian Radovac

from Cambodia, August 2018

"Lovely And chill"

Very Nice And good teachers! Food was very nice, especially the lunch. The center was well designed And there were sweet cats❤️ Accommodation was perfect for me. I even had a very special yoga/meditation experience at the temple, organised by blue indigo them self. But i liked the yoga shedule and types of classes the most. Was a nice planned mix. It was a very good way for me to get in balance And back into the healthy vibes after a long time

Backpacking. Felt a little sad when i left. I booked initially for 3 days But extended with 2;)

Robin Kraakman

from Vietnam, February 2018

the yoga lessons were very good. I enjoyed it every time. The teachers were nice too.

Anne-lise Roux

from France, November 2017

"Cours de yoga parfaits mais hébergement rudimentaire "

Les cours de yoga étaient très biens, tous les profs sont de vrais passionnés et aiment transmettre. Ils s’adaptent à tous les niveaux.

Astrid Malamud

from Cambodia, June 2017

"Recomendabke"

Las clases fueron muy buenas y como era temporada baja muy personalizadas

Maribet Villanueva

from Philippines.,

My retreat in Blue Indigo Yoga Retreat Center was fun. Great food! Great yoga teachers and staff.

I wish they do something about the mosquitoes.

Hannah

from Cambodia,

This place had a few things going for it, including excellent food, and lots of classes on offer. But I was disappointed in some of the teachers. Around 50% were excellent, but there were a few who definitely seemed very inexperienced. It also wasn't clear to me who was running the place, I think most of the teachers are volunteers?

It makes it seem as though there is a yoga class in a pagoda/among the ruins at Siem Reap included in the retreat, but you have to pay 45 USD extra for this, which is pretty hefty cash in Cambodia.

I also slept super badly because my room was very bright and full of mosquitoes. I would have left earlier if we didn't have to pay cash in advance and they hadn't taken so long to do my laundry. Generally a weird energy in this place. But great food for sure.

Management Response from Blue Indigo Cottage Retreat Center:

Dear Hannah Chapman,

Thank you for your comment. In response, we have 2 teachers and the rest are volunteers but all of them are certified but we can’t satisfy everyone, can we?

For the trip to the pagoda the guests has a participation of 6 USD, of which the money goes as donation for the blessing ceremony and for the boat ride, please note that we don’t receive anything from it.Please also note that the price paid in a shared twin room with 7 yoga classes (each classes cost 5 USD) per day with breakfast (5 USD) and lunch(5 USD) and your accommodation, which makes a total of 45 USD making your room 5 USD/day. Therefore, we can’t see how we can add temple visits for free with 37 USD for a day (ticket to the temples) and transport of 18 USD for full day visit fit in the amount you paid.

I would like to apologize in the name of all the mosquitoes of Cambodia.

The payment to pay in advance is everywhere,in general it's the same whether it’s a retreat or a hotel.The reason why the laundry came late, is that the young lady is a self worker, I don't know the reason for that.

At last, a quote of the day for your energy "what you see in others is just a reflection of yourself "

Good luck in your future.

Namaste, thank you for crossing our path and being part of the 0.01% unsatisfied people.

Sincerely yours, Blue Indigo Team

Kylee

from Australia,

Blue Indigo was amazing, their teachers are all beautiful souls and willing to help your journey at every turn. The program was packed full of classes and they also went to the effort of teaching the background theory for those who wanted to learn. The accommodation and food is basic but lovely. Would recommended to anyone needing a relaxing break!

Anonymous

Not to sound like a snob, but I'm someone with yoga experience and have practiced many years with world renowned senior teachers and previous retreats were always with specific teachers that I follow. I found this place using BookYogaRetreats.com and knew there was a risk not knowing the caliber of yoga instruction but I came with an open mind. That said, my opinion is that this should be regarded as a B&B with optional basic yoga classes. If you want a TRUE yoga retreat, this is not for you. If you are an advanced yogi, this is not for you. It just got started, so they are finding their way and improvements need to be made.

LOCATION - Excellent. It's a sweet oasis away from bustling Siem Reap but a short tuk tuk ride away from tourist attractions.

FACILITIES - Very Good. I found the decor charming and we got the only room with AC since my partner really wanted AC. We had a lot of space and it was quiet because of concrete walls. Note that the wooden cottages have no sound insulation. Room was cleaned every day and the bed was comfortable. I slept very well! Also liked the gazebo where you can relax on the hammocks. This is not a luxury resort so don't expect that. Due to the AC, power shortage happened every day when we tried to use the tankless water heater for showers.

FOOD - Delicious!! Looked forward to breakfast and lunch everyday and it's better than some of the local restaurants outside. Drooling as I think about it now...

STAFF - it's a family run retreat center so it's not what you would expect from a professional hotel. The booking process leaves a lot to be desired as it required many emails to get confirmation that we're booked. Nina, who is the daughter of the owners is just a young girl but seems to be doing all the administrative work as well as teaching aerial yoga! The kitchen and cleaning staff was lovely...friendly and very capable. Mr Samai, the resident tuktuk driver, was awesome. True that it was hard to find people to ask questions sometimes but in the end we always found answers and things worked out. So you have to have an easy going attitude about it all. Patrick, in particular always shared meals with us and provided friendly advice and suggestions when asked.

YOGA INSTRUCTION - A mixed bag ranging from dreadful to delightful. The saving grace was Laura. If Blue Indigo wants to be successful, they need to hire and retain more like her and give her more than just one flow class per day. She was the only authentic teacher there. There was one teacher that was just a joke. Taught things wrong and didn't even know how to do poses himself. After the first day, we just avoided his classes altogether. I wanted to walk out of one that we accidentally went to but didn't out of respect - that's how awful it was. Also, completely unapproachable and unfriendly which is not usually how a yoga teacher should be (at least not what I'm used to) Again, think of this place as your cozy base to explore Siem Reap with opportunity to do some basic yoga classes but do not go FOR yoga.

In short, you'll have a relaxing time there if you let go of expecting certain things. The people you meet is what will make it cool. We met some people that were great and would continue to keep in touch with.

Stephanie

The yoga retreat in Blue Indigo Cottage Retreat Center was really good! We enjoyed it so much. The environment provides a relaxing condition for us to learn and practice yoga. The teachers there are professional, especially. Mr Krishna Raja. We only stayed for 3 days and thus we could not learn too much at once. Krishna sent us email with the yoga theory notes so that we could learn more and practise out of the class. The combination of theory and actual practice is very enjoyable. Food are very nice and yum there!

Renee Letourneau

Such a nice escape from the city to reconnect with your body and your mind. All of the teachers held great, diverse, classes and genuinely cared about what they were teaching. The buildings themselves are beautifully declared and the whole area is peaceful and charming. I spent a week there and loved every minute of it.

Lianne

from Netherlands,

Natuurlijk wil ik dat! Hier mijn recensie voor het retreat center in Cambodja:

Ik verbleef samen met een vriendin voor 4 dagen in dit retraitecentrum. Voor ons beiden was dit de eerste keer dat we in contact kwamen met yoga en we zijn erg positief uit deze rustige oase gekomen! Het dagelijks uiteenlopende programma stond ons erg aan. Van lectures, meditatie, tot discussies en allerlei verschillende soorten yogalessen. Daarnaast was onze cottage erg fijn en schoon. Het eten was fantastisch! Alles was vers en iedere dag was er genoeg om uit te kiezen. We raden deze yoga retraite zeker aan als je een beginnende yoga'er bent en als je een beperkt budget hebt.

Frédérique

from France,

Un beau potentiel sur la voie

Le blue indigo cottage est niché au bout d'une impasse légèrement excentré. On n'y vient pas par hasard.

Le lieu est une enclave de verdure joliment décorée

Les chambres sont simples, décorées dans le même esprit que le lieu.

L'offre de yoga est dense. Ensuite La qualité des cours dépend du professeur et de votre affinité avec La pratique proposée mais le point fort du yoga est qu'on découvre toujours des choses si on accepte d'être â l'écoute.

Les cours théoriques sont intéressants car cela donne du sens et de la profondeur à sa pratique

Les salles de pratique sont sympathiques et varient selon la journée. Il est important de prévoir que l'option bikram est souvent fournie d'office, en période chaude

Les repas sont de qualité et la cuisinière et son assistante très serviables

Mes réserves sont des points qui n'auront peut-être plus lieu d'être cités dans quelques temps

L'accueil des propriétaires est réduit au minimum requis, ce qui est dommage car l'esprit guest house est d'accorder autant d'attention aux guests qu'à la house. Ce sont eux qui contribuent à donner l'âme au lieu. Cela est d'autant plus dommage qu'au maximum de l'affluence nous étions 4, donc facile d'avoir une attention même infime pour chacun. Je mettrai cela sur le compte que La pleine saison ouvre mi décembre et qu'ils étaient accaparés par leurs travaux. Tout est donc soumis à une possible évolution positive rapide.

Enfin non négligeable (La guest house n'en est pas responsable) : le bruit.

Nous sommes en ville. Un immeuble se construit à côté et les marteaux piqueurs et autres bétonnières peuvent s'en donner à cœur joie. Et surtout le plaisir de la fin de semaine ce sont les mariages. Pris dans l'enthousiasme de la conjugalité future ils attaquent avec entrain â 6h voire 5h du matin les psalmodies et autres musiques pour éteindre vers 20h/21h.

Le point positif est que ces désagréments sonores éprouvent notre capacité de sérénité et de concentration. Ces désagréments sont certainement passagers.

Le blue indigo est un beau lieu à Angkor avec un positionnement de niche. Il offre un beau complément aux temples (ma recommandation prenez le temps de les visiter avant ou après sinon vous allez courir tout le temps, ce qui n'est pas le but).

Après quelques ajustements, ce sera le vrai hâvre de paix qu'il aspire à être.